Weekend Time Trial Round-up, May 26-28

Share this post:

Leon Wright (Race Hub) secured his first victory of this season’s Knight Composites Classic Time Trial Series, while Kelly Murphy (C2 Racing) wrapped up the overall series victory at round five, promoted by the Border City Wheelers in Cumbria.

Kelly Murphy

Wright clocked 1-08-20 for the two-lap 28-mile course to take victory by exactly one minute from round four winner and joint series leader Dean Robson (Northover VT) while Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) was third, another 39 seconds off the pace.

And in the women’s event Kelly Murphy covered one lap of the course in 35-02 to give her a second consecutive series win. She was 2-32 ahead of second-placed Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Beacon Roads CC), while Aero Coach rider Victoria Smith was another 23 seconds down in third.

Elsewhere, Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance) won the Anfield BC 100 in Shropshire in a time of 3-41-58, giving him the win by 1-15 from Pendle Forest CC’s Richard Bideau, while Katja Rietdorf (Born to Bike) was fastest female.

Andrew White

In Devon, home club rider Wiebke Rietz (1st Chard Wheelers) and BPM Coaching’s Andrew White conquered the field in the 1st Chard Wheelers 10-mile time-trial near Feniton. White clocked 20-46, while Rietz covered the course in 25-46.

Becky Murley (Wisbech Wheelers) and Paul Hart (Southend Wheelers) were victorious in the Eastern Counties CA 25 near Newmarket in Cambridgeshire on Sunday.

New 50-mile competition record holder Hart clocked 48-29 to win by around a minute and a half, while Murley covered the course in 57-01.

Becky Murley

Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) clocked the third fastest 50-mile time ever on his way to victory in the Lovelo Racing 50-mile time trial in Buckinghamshire on Bank Holiday Monday.

The 34-year-old Polish international clocked 1-34-58 on the new F13/50 course near Waddesdon, beating F13/25 course record holder Stuart Travis (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) by around six minutes, while Ross Clarke (TMG Horizon) was third.

Ruth Summerford

In the women’s race an outstanding ride by Sigma Sport’s Rosamund Bradbury missed out by only two seconds from Michelle Lee of Royal Forest Dean CC despite being on a road bike, and beating Gill Fullen (St Neots CC) who came third.

Also on Bank Holiday Monday, Matt Senter (Team Velovelocity) won the Stowmarket and District CC 10 with a time on 19-47, 36 seconds quicker than runner-up Andy Proffitt (Ipswich BC), while Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) was fastest female.

And in the North Devon Wheelers 25 Matt Slater (Revo Racing) was victorious near Chumleigh, clocking 52-42 to win by more than four minutes, while Kate Mactear (Univ of Bristol CC) was best female rider.

And in the Brighton Mitre CC events on Monday, Ruth Summerford (Eastbourne Rovers) and Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes) were victorious in the early morning flat 10, while Pat Wright (Paceline RT) won the later hilly 10.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.