Weekend Time Trial Round-up, May 19-20

Share this post:

Talented teenager Pfeiffer Georgi (Liv CC-Halo Cycles) broke the junior women’s 25-mile competition record for a second time this season in the Acme Wheelers (Rhondda) CC 25 time trial near Rhigos in South Wales on Sunday.

Emma Angove

17-year-old Georgi took almost a minute off the yet-to-be-ratified record she set earlier this month on the same course, meaning that she has lowered the record by almost two minutes this season.

In the same event men’s national record holder Marcin BIaloblocki (NOPINZ) targeting another record but fell just short with 43-21, while Alice Lethbridge (DRAG2ZERO) won the women’s event with 51-22.

Elsewhere, Emma Angove (73 Degrees) and Gary Chambers (NOPINZ) were female and male champions as Northovers VT staged the Royal Navy 10- and 25-mile Championships last weekend.

Chambers clocked 19-41 and Angove 24-41 for Saturday’s 10-mile title race, and their were victorious once again on Sunday in the 25-mile title race.

Adam Wild

In Northumberland, Adam Wild (GS Metro) set a new course record for the M101 course, whilst Kerry Gowland (Houghton CC) finished top female in Saturday’s Cramlington CC 10.

Wild narrowly missed out on his own recorded personal best over 10 miles, but managed to break the course record in Northumberland en route to an impressive win in Northumberland & Durham Cycling Association’s 10-mile Championship.

Richard Price (London Phoenix CC) powered to victory in the Maldon and District CC 50 in Essex, while the promoting club’s Lisa Hurrell was fastest female.

Joanne Jago

Price, 40 and from Enfield, covered the E21/50 course near North Fambridge in 1-48-26 to win by 7-41 from his nearest rival Chris Smith (Southend Wheelers), while Hurrell’s time of 2-28-31 gave her the win in the women’s event by around seven and a half minutes from team-mate Rebecca Hammond.

Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles CC) and David Janes (Wheels of Dorset/Aero Testing) finished as quickest female and male riders at the Westbury Wheelers 26-mile time trial in Wiltshire on Saturday morning.

Jago went on to make it two wins in two days with victory in the Poole Wheelers 10 in Dorset on Sunday, where Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC) was fastest man.

Hetty Niblett

In Cheshire Darren Maironis and Hetty Niblett were fastest male and female riders as the Racing Chance Foundation staged a 25 on Saturday.

Maironis (Velotik Racing Team) clocked 53.35 to take the win by 23 seconds from Adam Darby (Salford CC), while Shrewsbury-based Niblett, who was riding for Mid-Shropshire Wheelers but is an under-23 prospect with Keukens Redant CT, clocked 1-00-23 to win the women’s prize by almost a minute from Deborah Moss (Team Merlin).

Pat Wright (Paceline RT) and Jackie Dodd (Kingston Phoenix CC) were quickest man and woman in the Southern Counties CU 10-mile time trial on Saturday.

And in Kent, Kevin Tye (VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths) and Joanna Smith (Thanet RC) secured victory men and women’s category wins in the Medway Velo Club 10-mile time trial.

Also in Kent, Nic Fennell (Thanet RC) and Charmaine Pullen (Folkestone Velo Club) were the main winners as De Laune CC staged a 25-mile time trial near Challock on Sunday morning.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* See the individual event listings for more detailed reports on these and other time trials.