Share this post:


We cross the border in to Scotland for the GTR Return to Life promotion on Sunday at Ballachulish for the 17.8-mile circuit of Loch Leven in the fourth leg of the TT Series.

The big attraction would have been World and Olympic Champion Katie Archibald (Wiggle-High5 ) in the women’s event if she had not been put out of action after a fall in the Tour of Yorkshire which left her with a broken collar bone.

As it is a good field contests the event. An on-form Carl Donaldson (GS Metro) heads the listing along with Dean Robson (Northover Vets-Rudy Project), Adam Robinson (Team KTM UK), Chris Smart (GTR-Return to Life) and a selection of top Scots riders. Donaldson also rides Saturday’s CTT Scottish Team Time Trial Championship with his GS Metro team.

Women include Series leader Kelly Murphy (C2 Racing), Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Beacon Roads CC) and leading Veteran Jackie Field (CC Ashwell) while Adam Jarps (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) should consolidate his position at the head of the Junior Points Table.

Peter Nicholls (Race Hub) defends his lead in the Veteran’s listings with Ben Lane (GS Metro) among the opposition. Nicholas Fairfield (City RC Hull) is the lone Paracyclist riding.

Event headquarters are at Ballachulish Local Community Centre, Loan Fenn PH49 4JB with racing starting at 09.01 on what is described as a “sporting” course.

The closing date for round 5 of the series being held on the 27th May promoted by Border City Wheelers is on Tuesday 15th May. 


Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) looks to take the Border City Wheelers `29` a week after winning the Derwentside CC event. Richard Bickley of the promoting club and Peter Greenwood (Team Swift) oppose.

Tyneside Vagabonds 38.6-mile Spoco event includes Adam Wild (GS Metro), Matt Moorhouse (Preston CC), Thomas Gilbert (Team Newcastle Tri), and Jon Sturman (,

Victor Chetta (Arctic-Tacx RT) and Graham Kemp (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) ride the Mid Shropshire Wheelers `50` and Brett Harwood (Team Bottrill) and Matthew Smith (Drag2Zero) are down for the Norlond Combine `50`.

Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance) and Adam Robinson compete in the Manchester & District TTA `25`.  Adam Duggleby (Vive le Velo) and Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) race over 10 miles in the Bourne Wheelers `10` as does Julian Ramsbottom.

 Joanna Knight (Bristol South CC) leads the women in the Western TTA Hardriders `31` where David Janes (Wheels of Dorset-Aero Testing) is favourite.


David Taylor
CTT Publicity officer.