RTTC National Hill Climb Championship preview

Share this post:

The Hill Climb brings the RTTC’s Championship year to an end on Sunday when GS Metro promote at Stocksfield on a challenging 1.1-mile ascent, that has attracted 240 Men, Women and Juniors.

 Adam Kenway (Team Raleigh GAC) will be defending his 2016 title and faces some stiff opposition. Past champion Dan Evans (ASSOS Equipe UK), Andy Cunningham (All Terrain Cycles), Kieran Savage (Team B38-Underpin Racing), Zeb Kyffin (GS Metro), Matthew Smith (Muckle CC), Joseph Clark (Cycling Sheffield Giant) and Joe Norledge (Bristol South CC) have all had their share of success during this year’s anti-gravity season.

Former World Pursuit Champion Colin Sturgess (Madison Genesis) is a welcome entry, off number 100.

The 47 women riding includes all-rounder Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling), who has mixed road and time trialling with success this year, often abroad. 12-hour record holder Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero), Henrietta Colborne (Swabo Ladies), Elizabeth Banks (Storey Racing), Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles CC) and Jessica Evans (ASSOS Equipe UK) are sure to liven up the action.

Juniors include Cavan Walker (Prologue RT), Rhys Evans (Mid Devon CC) and Dylan Hughes (Spokes BPC Racing) but it’s very much  `a pin` job. So make your own choices via the start sheet on our website.


Event HQ is at Stocksfield Cricket Club NE43 7NN. First rider away at 10.31 last at 2.30. The event is on a closed road