RTTC National 25 mile Championship preview

Share this post:


All eyes will be on Wales this weekend when the RTTC 25-mile Championships take place. With one of the most competitive fields ever seen for both the Men and Women’s title races the battle for the medals will be intense.

Promoted by the South Wales District on the speedy Rhigos course records could tumble. The Juniors have the pleasure of starting proceedings on Saturday afternoon. Some 35 Juniors compete starting at 4pm and it is pretty much a pin in the listings so take your pick.

Two riders are fresh from British Cycling’s Junior Track Championships at Newport, Zack Bridges (Cardiff Jif), second in the youth individual pursuit, and Peiffer Georgi (Liv CC-Epic Coaching) Junior Women’s Madison Champion. Apart from them take your pick from the start sheet (on our website).

The Women’s Championship sees 110 of our best present led by 2016 Champion Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling) and runner-up Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabonds) plus Alice Lethbridge, Kate Allan and Rachael Elliott, the Drag2Zero trio. The Women start at 4.53pm with Simmonds last away at 6.50pm.

Prize presentation at 8.45pm, the Juniors at 7pm.



The massive field of 150 Men contains most of last year’s medal winners from individual champion Ryan Perry (Team Raleigh GAC), third placed Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero), and John Dewey and Matthew Smith of the winning Team Bottrill—HSS Hire squad. Add in the likes of Daniel Bigham (Brother NRG Wattshop), with three Championship wins to his credit already this season, Adam Duggleby (Vive Le Velo), John Archibald (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing), Joshua Williams (Team Bottrill) and Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT) and the fight for those podium places will be intense.

Unlike the Women, the Men’s event has a morning star 9.01am, on Sunday, with defending Champion Perry due off last at 11.40am.


The course is the same as the Women and Juniors face, the R25/3H starting near the junction with the old A465 road (Hirwaun to Rhigos). The whole course is based on the A465.


Event HQ for all events is at Rhigos Rugby Club, The Clubhouse, Rhiigos, Aberdare CF44 9HJ. Prize Presentation 1.30pm. Bynea CC promote on behalf of the South Wales District.