Knight Composites Classic Series Round 3 and weekend preview

Share this post:

The TT Series reaches its halfway point this weekend when the Beacon RCC promote round three of the six round competition near the Shelsey Walsh Motor Racing Circuit, north west of Worcester. Once again Joshua Williams (Team Bottrill-HSS Hire) and Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling) are the  main attractions. Simmonds with wins in the first two rounds is heading for the overall win while Williams took the opening round but was a non-starter in the second leg following mechanical problems.


Dean Robson (Northover Vets-Rudy Project) and Jack O’Neil (Team Jewson-MI RT) are among those hoping to challenge Williams while Simmonds faces Elizabeth Banks (Sunsport Velo) and Kelly Murphy (Team Ford-Ecoboost) among the women’s event.

Danny Axford (Arctic-Tacx) heads the veteran’s entry where Liz Powell (Mike Vaughan Cycles) and Crystal Spearman (NOPINZ) are also featured. Adam Robertson (Verulam CC) defends his lead in the Junior Competition where Zak Coleman (TeamPedal Revolution) provides the main opposition.

Event headquarters are at Midland Automobile, Shelsey Walsh, WR6 6RP. The event starts at 8am. Simmonds is off at 9.28am, Williams 10.11am. All the riders face the 37-mile course that has made the Beacon RCC event so popular for many years.


Although round three of the Knight Composites Classic TT Series takes centre stage this weekend  plenty of our leading time triallists are in action elsewhere. Philip Graves (NOPINZ) looks to add to his tally  of 2017 wins in the Otley CC Spoco `25` where Adam Duggleby (Vive Le Velo) may prove a problem. Keith Murray (Drag2Zero) goes for the Bath CC `10`, Kieron Davies (Team Bottrill-HSS Hire) heads for the Ogmore Valley Wheelers `25`, John Dewey (Team Bottrill) and Rob Sharland (Paceline RT) meet in the Farnborough & Camberley CC `25`. Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) has the Kingston Phoenix `10` and the Addiscombe CC `25` to show his paces with Pat Wright (Paceline RT) and Keith Lea (Paceline RT) and Peter Tadros (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) among his opponents.


James Gullen (JLT Condor) is the man to beat in the Wigan Wheelers `10` where a certain Gethin Butler (Preston Wheelers) is also listed. SSLL RT’s Simon Beldon and Jon Surtees are down for the Yorkshire CF `25` where Rachael Mellor (Holmfirth CC) and Kirsty Smith (Team Swift) are among the women. Mark Arnold (CC Desireagear) goes for the Colchester Rovers 50-mile Spoco event.