Preview 8/9 April

Share this post:

Plenty of racing this pre-Easter weekend with a wide choice of highlights. Reigning TT Series Champion Philip Graves (NOPINZ) rides Saturday’s Ravensthorpe CC `10` and follows that on Sunday with the Stockton Wheelers 23-mile sporting event. Brett Harwood (Team Bottrill-HSS Hire) goes for the Lea Valley CC `25` where he has to beat team mate John Dewey and Pat Wright (Paceline RT) before moving on to Sunday’s Spalding CC `18` where Julian Ramsbottom (Pedal Pushers) and Neil Palmer (Velo-One RT) oppose.

Keith Murray (Drag2Zero) can be seen in action in Saturday’s West Kent RC `10` with Chris Fennell (Thanet RC), Bronwen Ewing (Rye & District Wheelers) and Helen McKay (Les Filles RT) also listed while Murray’s team mate Kieron Davies is scratch man in the Bynea CC `30`.

The BDCA `25s` have Steve Irwin (North Lancs RC), Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT) and Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance) in the men’s event while Lynne Biddulph and her team mate Chris Melia,  Keri Parton (RAF CA) and Kirsty Smith (Team Swift) are among the women riding.


The Finsbury Park CC’s hilly `10` covers much of the North Road Hardriders course and includes Niall Digby (Sigma Sport), Tim Davies (Icknield RC) and Gunther Zechmann (Phoenix CC) in the field. The A3crg `23` has Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes) on his TT bike while David Pollard (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT),Craig Wallington (Sarum Velo) and Zoe Taylor of the promoting club go for the `road bike` version.

Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) heads the field for the Kent Valley RC SPOCO `30` along with Simon Wilson (Brother NRG Pro Cycling), Philip Jones (Bella in Sella) and Hamish Graham (Green Jersey RT) while Carol Westmorland (Border City Wheelers) is among the women.

Glossop Kinder Velo’s 25.6-mile event includes Lee Baldwin (VCUK Velochampion RT), David James Williams (Velotik RT) and Sam Clark (Buxton CC) looking for top placings while Luke Clarke (TMG Horizon CT) is the man to beat in the Icknield RC 18.6-kilometre time trial.


The VTTA Championship `10` has Gavin Hinxman (Drag2Zero), Shaun Eden (Mapperley CC), Blair Buss (SSLL RT) and Colin Parkinson (South Western RC) chasing the medals.

Full start sheets of all these events can be found in our start sheets section.