Share this post:



Its the Championship that draws the most attention, the Blue Ribbon of our time trial titles, the 25-mile test. Split over the weekend we have the Women and Juniors fighting it out on Saturday while the Men go for it on Sunday.

Both events have the current champions defending, Hayley Simmonds (AeroCoach) and Ryan Perry (Langdale Lightweights RT) and both should retain the titles.

Simmonds defends in the South East Midlands District Council promotion at Sawtry, Cambridgshire, a week after setting the Competition Record 49-28 in winning the Bynea CC event ahead of Angela Hibbs (Fusion RT Fierlan) and Anna Turvey (Tynside Vagabonds), who come up against her again on Saturday. With one of the best fields for some years, others who will challenge include Claire Rose (Podium Ambition Pro Cycling), who has been prominent on the road racing scene these last few months, former champion Julia Shaw (drag2zero), Mel Wasley (SSLL RT), Emily Cox (Bedfordshire Road RT) and we must not forget Sarah Storey (Podium Ambition). All in all 81 women contest the event.


The Juniors are first away at 2pm when 31 Girls and Boys compete. The Boys looks to be between James Holmes (Mid Shropshire Wheelers), Sam Walsham (Team Bikebox Alan), Nathan Allatt (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA) and Samuel Wadsley (Poole Wheelers) while Hetty Niblett (Footon Velosport), second last year, faces Henrietta Colborne (Team Ford Ecoboost), the new Girl's 10-mile Competition Record holder.

Course is the N1/25c the Sawtry-Stilton road. The Women go off at 2.40pm with Simmonds last away at 4.10pm. Event HQ is at Sawtry Village Hall, Green End Road, Sawtry PE28 5UY.


On Sunday we cross country to Snetterton, Norfolk, for the Men's event, promoted by East District Council on the B25/8 course, Larling-Attleborough-Browick roads and back. The 150-strong field contains virtually all our top riders so expect a terrific battle for a place at least in the top 10. Ryan Perry goes off last at 10.40am two minutes behind Kieran Davis (drag2zero), third last year 32 seconds down on Perry. Brett Harwood (Terry Wright Cycles), Richard Bussell (AeroCoach), Stephen Irwin (North Lancs RC), Matthew Smith (Team Bottrill) and Andy Jackson (SSLL RT) precede Perry. 

Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT), Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles), Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC), John Dewey (Team Bottrill), Nick English (AeroCoach), Jonathan Wears (SSLL RT), Christopher Fennell (Thanet RC) and Matt Langworthy (Mid Devon CC), Bronze Medal winner in the Junior event last year are just some of the riders to look out for in this stella field.

First rider is off at 8.01am. Headquarters are at the World Horse Welfare Hall Farm Rescue and Rehoming Centre, Ada Cole Avenue, Snetterton, NR16 2LP.