VTTA (Kent group)(all ages)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-Jun-22
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: Q25/8
  • Closing Date: 31-May-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Jones and Newman clinch wins at VTTA Kent 25

  • Published: 13 Jun 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Lesley Newman

Martin Jones (Colour Tech RT) brought home victory for the host region at the VTTA (Kent Group) 25, while Lesley Newman (Ashford Wheelers) was the sole woman competitor in the event near Canterbury on Sunday.

Jones, aged 51, posted a time of 56 minutes and 12 seconds resulting in winning the event based on standard with a time of +11.58

The Q25/8 saw riders start near Molash with a welcome descent to get underway before traveling out past Chilham and onto the A28 towards Canterbury.

Competitors then made the return leg before continuing on the A28 down to Ashford before returning back towards Molash but finishing outside Chilham.

Riders were greeted to a sunny and mild morning with a temperature of around 13 degrees Celsius.

 A 10 miles per hour breeze from the west gave riders a boost on the first leg of the course towards Canterbury.

Martin Jones

Riders were also gifted with a recently resurfaced section of the course in the first leg, making for a smoother ride than previous events on this Q25/8.

Riding for the organising Kent Group, Jones took his first win of the season after finishing sixth in the Southborough & District Wheelers 10 on his only other ride.

Simon Henderson (Thanet RC) was a close second as the 59-year-old finished 58-29 but despite being over two minutes behind on scratch his standard worked out at +11.45.

Completing the men’s podium positions was fastest veteran on scratch Dean Chiddention (Abellio – SFA Racing Team) with the 46-year-old recording a time of 55.37 which equated to a standard of +11.30.

The event also saw a scratch competition which Peter Robertson (Backpedal) won completing the course in 54-43.

Newman was the only woman competitor with the 59-year-old posting a time of one hour, 19 minutes and 59 seconds which equated to a standard of +3.02.

It was Newman’s first win of the season after finishing third in the VTTA (inc Kent Group champs) 24.7 on her only other outing this year.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Martin Jones (Colour Tech RT) +11.58

2 Simon Henderson (Thanet RC) +11.45

3 Dean Chiddention (Abellio – SFA Racing Team) +11.30

4 Paul Sewell (PartenzaNude Espresso RT) +10.05

5 James Hawkins (Gemini BC) +9.45

6 Andy Robinson (Ashford Whs) +8.53

Scratch: Peter Robertson (Backpedal) 54.43

Veteran on scratch: Dean Chiddention (Abellio – SFA Racing Team) 55.37

Women: Lesley Newman (Ashford Whs) +3.02

Women on scratch: Lesley Newman (Ashford Whs) 1:19.59