Maldon & District CC (SPOCO SE)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-May-22
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: E21/25A
  • Closing Date: 26-Apr-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Pennington and Robinson charge to victories in Maldon & Dist 25

  • Published: 09 May 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
David Pennington

David Pennington (Southend Wheelers) took victory in the Maldon and District CC 25, while Louise Robinson (Essex Roads CC) was a convincing victor in the women’s event.

Pennington took his first even open time trial victory completing the undulating course in a winning time of 56 minutes and 31 seconds.

The 34-year-old finished second in the Maldon & District CC hilly 22-mile event in March but was not to be denied on this occasion winning the John Norris Trophy for a year.

The untraditional E21/25A course saw riders start near Steeple before heading on an initial 12-mile loop to Bradwell-on-Sea before then taking on a secondary loop to complete the distance.

On the lumpy course Pennington was slower than his 25-mile personal best of 52-31 but his time was enough for victory by 25 seconds.

Louise Robinson

Lee Kennedy (Army Cycling) took second in 56-57 while in a tight finish for third quickest veteran Matthew Saunders (Team Vision Racing – Silverhook) finished in 57-35 just 10 seconds faster than Peter Robertson (Backpedal) (57-45).

In the women’s category veteran rider Robinson stormed to victory by two minutes in 1-02-52, a time which had record keepers looking back for the previous course record mark.

The 45-year-old has also won the Finsbury Park 25 and Maldon & District hilly 12 and took her third win of her campaign in convincing style.

Fellow veteran Gillian Leech (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) led home the chasers in 1-04-48 while Jan Harvey (Southend Wheelers) finished third (1-06-36).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 David Pennington (Southend Wheelers) 56.31
2 Lee Kennedy (Army Cycling) 56.57
3 Matthew Saunders (Team Vision Racing – Silverhook) 57.35
4 Peter Robertson (Backpedal) 57.45
5 Andrew Turnock (Finsbury Park CC) 57.49
6 Neil Hughes (Velo Schils Interbike RT) 58.25

1 Louise Robinson (Essex Roads CC) 1:02.52
2 Gillian Leech (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) 1:04.48
3 Jan Harvey (Southend Wheelers) 1:06.36
4 Lucinda Davies (Podium Addict) 1:08.01
5 Caroline Wyke (CC Sudbury) 1:26.21