Leicestershire Road Club (MEN)(road Bikes only, no Tri Bars)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-May-21
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 27.2 Miles
  • Course: AH/1
  • Closing Date: 20-Apr-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Shaw and Bates smash course records to win Leicestershire Road Club 27.2

  • Published: 02 May 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Lou Bates

James Shaw led a dominant display from the Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling team which saw them place seven riders in the top 10 in the Leicestershire Road Club 27.2 for road bikes, while Lou Bates (Nottingham Clarion CC) took the women’s event.

The race saw both the men’s and women’s previous course records fall on several occasions with Shaw taking five and half minutes off the previous men’s mark of 1-06-14 and Bates breaking the women’s record by over six minutes.

Shaw was pushed all the way for victory out of a quartet of Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling riders with his time of 59-45 enough to take victory by 15 seconds.

The sporting course starts and finishes near Twyford with riders completing a 27.2 mile loop on minor roads taking in the villages of Keyham, Tilton on the Hill, Knossington, Somerby, Pickwell, Little Dalby, Great Dalby before heading through Thorpe Satchville shortly before the finish.

Straight out of the start riders faced a climb before the rest of the course included a mixture of rolling and unclassified lanes to test riders’ technical ability.

Former Lotto Soudal road rider Shaw, aged 24, was taking part in his first open time trial after a young career spend road racing and took a fine victory.

Dan Bigham, who won last year’s National 10 Mile Championship, was left to battle for second with his time of one hour exactly just edging Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling team-mate Matt Gibson into third by five seconds.

In the veterans’ category Matthew Bottrill (Team Bottrill) took his first victory of the season with his time of 1-06-55 some two-and-a-half minutes quicker than his nearest rival.

Roy Chamberlain (Corley Cycles RT) led the rest of the field home in 1-08-25 which was 26 seconds faster than third placed Mark Greenwood (Lungs 2 Legs).

Meanwhile, in the junior event Harrison Tacey brought home victory for host club Leicestershire RC in 1-09-01 ahead of Ryan Williams (Beeston Cycling Club) in 1-14-55 while Alex Smith (Welland Valley CC) finished third (1-22-32).

On a rare outing veteran rider Lou Bates (Nottingham Clarion CC) showed her younger rivals her form to win the women’s event.

The 40-year-old came out on top in a close battle which saw the top three riders separated by just 16 seconds.

Bates’ winning time of 1-14-07 beat last week’s Merlin Classic Series winner Francesca Hall (Loughborough Lightning/TRG) into second by 10 seconds (1-14-17) while April Tacey (Drops – Le Col s/b Tempur) completed the podium positions in 1-14-23.

“It was good fun,” said Bates after winning on her first ride of the season.

“There was no wind and it was pretty perfect for the event. There was no flat roads and it was up and down the whole way.

“Living in Nottingham I knew some of the roads before. It was a really good event which was very well organised.”



1 James Shaw (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 59.45
2 Dan Bigham (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 1:00.00
3 Matt Gibson (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 1:00.05
4 Zeb Kyffin (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 1:00.58
5 Toby Barnes (Crimson Orientation Marketing RT) 1:02.18
6 Jenson Young (Saint Piran) 1:02.30
7 Simon Wilson (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 1:02.54
8 Fredrick Scheske (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 1:02.58
9 Oliver Maxwell (Saint Piran) 1:02.59
10 Charles Page (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 1:03.37

Veterans: Matthew Bottrill (Team Bottrill) 1:06.55
Juniors: Harrison Tacey (Leicestershire RC) 1:09.01

1 Lou Bates (Nottingham Clarion CC) 1:14.07
2 Francesca Hall (Loughborough Lightning/TRG) 1:14.17
3 April Tacey (Drops – Le Col s/b Tempur) 1:14.23
Veteran: Lou Bates (Nottingham Clarion CC) 1:14.07