bike~pace (Men) (entries close 03/09/2021)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-Sep-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: R50/1B
  • Closing Date: 03-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Welsh wins for Jones and Murray

  • Published: 14 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Anthony Jones

Christina Murray and Anthony Jones were fastest female and male riders respectively at the Bike pace 50-mile time trial near Abergavenny on Saturday.

Murray (Army Cycling), the reigning women’s national 24-hour champion, covered the R50/1b course in Monmouthshire in an impressive 1-54-11 despite early crosswinds causing problems for some and nearly abandoning after just two miles.

Welsh 12-hour champion Jones (VMCC powered by Y Beic), covered the course in a new personal best time of 1-43-07 to take overall victory by just four seconds from Conrad Moss (Primera TeamJobs), while another 22 seconds back was Stuart Day (VC Sevale) in third.

Ludlow CC Espoir Robbie Disney was fastest on a road bike and just scraped under the two-hour mark in 1-59-59, making the most of reasonable conditions which saw sunny intervals through the clouds, while showers didn’t arrive until the afternoon.

The course takes riders from a starting point to the south of Abergavenny and along the A40 through Raglan and on to Mitchel Troy just before Monmouth. They turn back at that point and on returning to the start they repeat it for a second lap.

Christina Murray

Having also ridden the Cambridge CC 25 the following day, Murray is now targeting the Bute Wheelers weekend of events on the Scottish island next weekend.

Jones has been prolific this season, but his two victories of 2021 have come in his last two events – this Bike Pace 50 as well as last weekend’s Welsh 12-Hour Championship.

Prior to that, he had featured on the podium at the 10 and Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 50 in August, the Bike Pace 50 on the same course back in June as well as the West Wales CL 100 and the 10.

He is hoping to secure a ride at the Welsh 50-Mile Championships on September 26, and his performance at the Bike Pace 50 will boost his hopes of victory there.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



      MEN on TT bikes                   

1     Anthony Jones    VMCC powered by Y Beic MV    1:43:07    

2     Conrad Moss Primera-Teamjobs MV    1:43:11    

3     Stuart Day  VC Sevale (Malvern)    MV    1:43:33    

4     Gavin McCloskey-Lambert      Manchester Wh    M     1:44:29    

5     Christopher Owram Bath Cycling Club M     1:44:53    

6     Simon Adcook     Worcester St. Johns CC MV    1:48:15    

7     Kevin Lane  Droitwich Cycling Club MV    1:49:13    

8     John Franklin    Twickenham CC    M     1:49:18    

9     Dan Cutting Ludlow CC   MV    1:53:48    

10    Jonathan Sayce   Hereford & Dist Whs CC MV    1:54:03    

11    Mike Hall   Port Talbot Whs CC     MV    1:54:57    

12    Gareth Jones     Clevedon & Dist RC     MV    1:55:21    

13    Gary Jones   MV    1:56:04    

14    Andy Kelly  Bristol South Cycling Club   MV    2:00:48    

15    Marco Marletta   Cardiff Jif MV    2:03:02    

16    Allan Hodgson    Newport Phoenix CC     MV    2:04:17    

17    Tom Cox     Saint Piran MV    2:05:56    

18    Paul Colman Haverfordwest Hornets  MV    2:06:21    

19    Tim Radley  Gloucester City Cycling Club MV    2:08:42    

20    Roger Taylor     Frome and District Wheelers  MV    2:15:26    

21    John Isard  Hampshire Road Club    MV    2:15:49    

22    David Steel Hereford & Dist Whs CC MV    2:38:59    

23    Peter Wilson     Bath Cycling Club MV    2:44:28    

24    John Howells     Corinium Cycle Club    MV    2:46:58    

      Justin Ford CC Blaenau Gwent MV    DNF  

      Owen Burgess     Newport Phoenix CC     M     DNS  

      Mark Pierce Plymouth Corinthian CC M     DNSa 

      James Cartlidge  Plymouth Corinthian CC M     DNSa 

      Phil Wright Hartlepool CC    MV    DNSa 

      Daniel Colman    Arctic Aircon RT M     DNSa

      Nick Bunyard     Westbury Wheelers MV    DNS  

      Andrew Curley    Warwickshire Road Club MV    DNS  


      WOMEN on TT bikes                 

1     Christina Murray Army Cycling     WV    1:54:11    

      Andrea Parish    VeloSistas TT Team     WV    DNF  

      Isabella McNally Westbury Wheelers W     DNSa 


      ROAD BIKES                   

1     Robbie Disney    Ludlow CC   E-RB  1:59:59    

2     Michael Collins  VC Sevale (Malvern)    MV-RB 2:19:21    

      Karl Moseley     Bridgnorth Cycling Club      MV-RB DNS