bike~pace (Men) (entries close 18/06/2021)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 26-Jun-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: R50/1B
  • Closing Date: 18-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Duncombe and Robson take victories in Bike-Pace 50

  • Published: 29 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Dean Robson

Lizi Duncombe (Socks4Watts Race Team) continued her impressive form over the longer distances by winning the women’s event at the Bike-Pace 50, while Dean Robson (Velo Sport Jersey) took his first victory of the season in the men’s event.

Duncombe, aged 31, from London, won the North Lancashire Time Trial Association 100 on her last outing and was again victorious in South Wales clocking a winning time of one hour, 53 minutes and 28 seconds.

Duncombe’s new personal best time was impressive enough to place her 11th overall in the event and she was the women’s winner by five minutes and 31 seconds.

The R50/1B saw riders compete over two laps of the out and back A40 between Abergavenny and Mitchel Troy.

Conditions were fine and dry, with a warm north-easterly wind of around 13 miles per hour that some riders found blustery and troublesome.

Although the Hardwick Gyratory was very busy, traffic levels on the A40 dual carriageway between Abergavenny and Raglan varied between light and moderate.

Duncombe also led her team to third place in the overall team competition.

Quickest veteran on standard Michelle Lee (PDQ Cycle Coaching) was also second overall stopping the clock in 1-58-59.

Taking part in her first open time trial for almost two years Roxy Woodfield (Hereford Triathlon Club) finished third in 2-03-03 which was 30 seconds faster than second veteran on standard Jo Buckland (FTP Fulfil The Potential Racing) (2-03-33).

Woodfield also won the LTS improvement prize with an improvement of 16 minutes and 10 seconds from a ride of 2-03-03.

Meanwhile, in the men’s category Robson clinched his first victory of the season knocking over four minutes off his personal best time clocking 1-42-48.

On his last outing Robson finished 14th in the National Circuit Championships. He also finished runner-up in both the North Devon Wheelers sporting 22 and Team Swindon Cycles 10.

Anthony Jones (VMCC powered by Y Beic) was second overall with 1-43-49, a personal best improvement of 27 seconds and also first place veteran on standard with +33.31.

Meanwhile, Philip Tucker (Bynea CC) finished third in 1-44-59. He also led Bynea Cycling Club to the team award alongside Darrel Williams (1-58-49) and Philip Turner (1-59-15).

Second veteran on standard was Stuart Day (VC Sevale - Malvern) +30:58 after posting a time of 1-48-11.

In the road bike event Andrew Butcher (Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club) took his first victory of the season clocking 1-56-46 - a personal best improvement of 3-21.

Butcher had finished second in the Bynea CC 10 and bike-pace 50 on road bikes, but was not to be denied on this occasion.

Richard Llewellyn (Imperial Racing Team) finished second in 2-04-19 ahead of Dylan Edwards( Veloflow CC) clocking 2-05-12.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1              Dean Robson     Velo Sport Jersey             01:42:48

2              Anthony Jones  VMCC powered by Y Beic              01:43:49

3              Philip Tucker      Bynea Cycling Club          01:44:59

4              Stuart Day           VC Sevale (Malvern)       01:48:11

5              Simon Adcook   Worcester St. Johns CC  01:49:21

6              Harry Loader      Mid Devon CC    01:50:40

7              Robin Short        Cotswold Veldrijden       01:51:45

8              Thomas Dye       Cardiff Ajax CC   01:52:29

9              Daniel Wyatt      Hereford & Dist Whs CC 01:52:35

10           Luke Smith          Bristol South Cycling Club             01:53:13

11           Ross McNally      Pembrokeshire Velo       01:55:40

12           Adam Whittaker               FTP (Fulfil The Potential) Racing 01:55:52

13           Mark Bradley     Bristol South Cycling Club             01:55:54

14           Paul Colman       Haverfordwest Hornets 01:57:05

15           Tommy Barlow  Clevedon & District Road Club    01:57:07

16           Chris Lee              Merthyr CC         01:57:08

17           Mike Hall              Port Talbot Whs CC         01:57:29

18           Paul Winchcombe            Chippenham & District Wheelers              01:57:40

19           Liam O'Mahoney             East London Triathletes 01:58:18

20           Darrel Williams  Bynea Cycling Club          01:58:49

21           Christopher Newby         Bristol CX             01:59:12

22           Phillip Turner     Bynea Cycling Club          01:59:15

23           Jon Wiggins         PDQ Cycle Coaching        01:59:44

24           Iain Bell Monmouthshire Wheelers          01:59:53

25           Roger  Whittle   Gloucester City Cycling Club        02:00:26

26           Andy Kelly           Bristol South Cycling Club             02:02:55

27           Chris Goulden   American Flyers 02:03:06

28           Tony  Lake           Gloucester City Cycling Club        02:04:26

29           Derek Dowdeswell          Gloucester City Cycling Club        02:05:17

30           Gerry McGarr    Gloucester City Cycling Club        02:05:27

31           Marco Marletta Cardiff Jif             02:06:11

32           Andrew Simpkins             Team Echelon    02:07:14

33           Les Thomas        Port Talbot Whs CC         02:08:12

34           Mark Evans         Chippenham & District Wheelers              02:08:13

35           Matthew Garfield            Cycle Specific     02:09:14

36           Ryan Evans         Rhondda Triathlon Club 02:11:46

37           Cliff Voller           Newbury RC       02:15:25

38           Tom Cox              Saint Piran           02:15:36

39           Jonny Simpkins Andover Wheelers          02:15:44

40           Roger Taylor       Frome and District Wheelers      02:16:57

41           Nathan Miles     Haverfordwest Hornets 02:18:35

42           Simon Kinsey     Virtual Cycling Club         02:18:57

43           John Howells      Corinium Cycle Club        02:55:19


Road bikes

1              Andrew Butcher               Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club      01:56:46

2              Richard Llewellyn             Imperial Racing Team     02:04:19

3              Dylan Edwards  VELOFLOW CC   02:05:12


1              Lizi Duncombe  Socks4Watts Race Team                01:53:28

2              Michelle Lee      PDQ Cycle Coaching        01:58:59

3              Roxy Woodfield                Hereford Triathlon Club 02:03:03

4              Jo Buckland        FTP (Fulfil The Potential) Racing 02:03:33

5              Louise Burnie     Swansea Wheelers/CS Abertawe              02:04:21

6              Hannah Munday              Tri Training Harder          02:04:25

7              Laura Paine         Socks4Watts Race Team                02:04:26

8              Amanda Lane     Bynea Cycling Club          02:10:05

9              Mhairi Smith      Socks4Watts Race Team                02:11:55

10           Claire Jackson    Royal Dean Forest Cycle Club      02:13:46