Maidenhead & District Cycling Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-Sep-21
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 29.5 Miles
  • Course: H29/18
  • Closing Date: 24-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Mulvey and Brown charge to victories in Maidenhead & District Cycling Club 29.5

  • Published: 07 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
John Mulvey.

John Mulvey (UpShift Nutrition Race Team) took his fourth victory of the season in the Maidenhead & District Cycling Club hilly 29.5 riding clear of his nearest challenger by nearly two minutes, while Gina Brown (Redhill CC) was fastest woman.

Despite the hilly terrain including unclassified roads the 28-year-old recorded an average speed over 27.4 miles per hour on his way to clocking a winning time of one hour, four minutes and 26 seconds.

Starting near Lane End competitors completed a loop of almost 30 miles heading out on the B482 through Stokenchurch before turning onto an unclassified road which included lumpy terrain to Christmas Common.

Riders continued through Park Corner to Nettlebed before joining the A4130 across to Henley-on-Thams.

Following the river on flatter terrain riders passed through Medmenham to Marlow before the lumpy leg back to the uphill finish at Freith.

Mulvey, from Oxford, also won the Didcot Phoenix CC 10 and Aylesbury CC 10 and showed his form over the longer and hillier course on this occasion to take victory.

Pat Wright (Paceline RT) continues his search for a first win of the season finishing second this time out in 1-06-23.

Leading veteran was Justin Webb (...a3crg) who placed third overall clocking 1-07-18.

Second veteran was Philip Watts (North Hampshire RC) in 1-14-16 just 35 seconds faster than third veteran Jon Elliott (Maidenhead & District CC).

The tricycle competition was won by Sid Charlton (Lincoln Wheelers CC) in 1-33-57.

Veteran rider Brown took her first victory of the season in the women’s competition clocking a time of 1-35-15.

Jill Bartlett (Hounslow & District Whs) was the only other women’s competitor clocking a time of 1-41-25 for second.

The two-up competition was won by veteran riders James Smee and Larry Wiltshire (Chichester City Riders) who clocked a winning time of 1-13-47.

Verulam CC team-mates Stan Nwaka and Nicholas Coe were second in 1-19-15 while the female pair of Louise Moriarty (Look Mum No Hands!) and Jayne Paine (Les Filles Racing Team) were third overall in 1-21-53.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.