Hounslow & District Wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Aug-21
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: H100/88
  • Closing Date: 20-Jul-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Holt and Smith win Hounslow 100

  • Published: 02 Aug 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Marianne Holt

Marianne Holt (Fareham Wheelers) and Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers) were fastest female and male riders respectively at the Hounslow and District Wheelers 100-mile time trial in Hampshire on Sunday.

40-year-old Holt clocked 4-11-05 for the H100/88 near Lower Froyle, giving her the women’s win by 28-55 from Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers‘ Louisa Cooper.

Smith, the 47-year-old from West Sussex who won this event last time it was run in May 2019, covered the distance in 3-37-12 to win by 5-30 from Redmon CC rival Eddie Allen, while third went to Alexander Donger (Oxonian CC) who was just 11 seconds further back.

Newbury Velo pairing Ian Greenstreet and Rachael Elliott entered on their tandem and were in their usual impressive form, clocking 3-46-51 despite puncturing, returning to headquarters for a wheel change and continuing on their way!

Smith was also the fastest veteran on standard with a plus of 1-08-50, while Elliott and Greenstreet were second in that category with plus 1-05-13.

Mark Smith

This was 2021 win number six for Smith according to his CTT record, having last tasted victory back in June when he was victorious in the Lewes Wanderers 30, while he teamed up with team-mate Kevin Nelson in May to win the Sussex CA two-up 28.5-mile event near West Grinstead.

It was a personal best by over six minutes for Marianne Holt, who was also securing her first win of 2021.

Previously this season she has placed second in the a3crg 10, the Portsmouth North End 40km and the Newbury Velo 15, as well as third in the Shaftesbury CC 50-mile event a fortnight ago.

She is next hoping to be in action in the a3crg Flying 15 on August 22, as well as the Burton and District CA 100-mile event on September 4.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name  Team  Time

1     Mark Smith  Crawley Wheelers 3:37:12

2     Eddie Allen Redmon CC   3:42:42

3     Alexander Donger Oxonian CC  3:42:53

4     Liam Somerville  Bike Jockey CC   3:45:06

5     Edward Hales     London Dynamo    3:46:47

6     Kevin Baker Velo Club St Raphael   3:50:11

7     Daniel Ryan North Road CC    3:51:52

8     Edward Renwick   Oxford City RC   3:54:06

9     Phil Wilks  Sotonia CC  3:54:23

10    Jay Hookins BJ cycling  3:56:31

11    Mark Bradley     Bristol South Cycling Club   3:57:51

12    Colin Parkinson  South Western Road Club      3:59:23

13    Gary Lock   New Forest CC    3:59:38

14    Duncan Emery     Twickenham CC    4:01:01

15    Paul Winchcombe  Chippenham & District Wheelers     4:06:34

16    Pete Christensen Alton CC/Owens Cycles  4:07:58

17    Benoit Bely Walden Tri  4:09:00

18    Julian Lockwood  Primera-Teamjobs 4:10:27

19    Craig Nilsson    Rye & District Wheelers CC   4:10:39

20    Gareth Wood Hart Veloce 4:10:48

21    Marianne Holt    Fareham Wheelers CC    4:11:05

22    Billy Dyer  BJ cycling  4:12:55

23    George Turner    VTTA (London & Home Counties)      4:16:39

24    Ian Neville Hart Evolution Race Team     4:20:57

25    Richard Mellor   Team Bottrill    4:27:12

26    Nick Burton Newark Castle CC 4:32:28

27    Neil Langley     Hampshire Road Club    4:32:45

28    Gordon Hobbs     Verulam CC  4:37:03

29    Luhan Bely  Walden Tri  4:37:20

30    Paul Couldridge  Phoenix Triathlon 4:38:19

31    Louisa Cooper    Bournemouth Jubilee Whs      4:40:00

32    Paul Walker Phoenix Triathlon 4:53:34

33    John Isard  Hampshire Road Club    4:54:21

34    Gary Martin Westerley Cycling Club 5:04:08

35    Peter Horsfield  Redmon CC   5:12:34