Cycle Sport South Hams

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-May-21
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: S/AVONWICK
  • Closing Date: 20-Apr-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Shaw wins CS South Hams TT, tie for women’s award

  • Published: 02 May 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Martine Geraghty

Martine Geraghty and Catherine Hilton tied for the women’s prize at the CS South Hams 10-mile time trial in Devon on Sunday, while Robert Shaw (Plymouth Corinthians CC) was fastest male with a course record performance.

Geraghty, the 51-year-old who rides for Penzance Wheelers, clocked 29-34 as did Catherine Hilton, the 48-year-old Sid Valley CC member.

Shaw’s time of 22-37 gave him the overall win by a minute from Tom Scorer (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA), while just one second further back was Robert Willcocks (Royal Air Force CA) in third.

A frosty start to the day disappeared and a sunny morning greeted riders to the Avonwick course, which saw Shaw set a new course record time.

Other categories saw Mid-Devon CC junior Callum Start take fourth overall as well as the junior award, while the veterans 40-60 went to Tom Scorer in second. Top over-60 veteran was Roger Sheridan (North Devon Wheelers) in 26-14, while the fastest man on a road bike was Bobby Cowsill (Kibosh) with 25-55.

Alltrax rider Kari Eilertsen was best female on a road bike with 31-36, while the fastest women veterans were overall winners Hilton and Gareghty.

Further down the overall result, Andrew Parnowski (City Cycle Couriers) clocked 24-48 to take fifth spot behind Callum Start, while joint sixth was Nick Blight (NOPINZ Motip RT) and James Cartlidge (Plymouth Corinthian CC) who both covered the course in 24-51.

The popular course begins near South Brent and heads over the A38 Devon Expressway through Avonwick and on towards Totnes. However, before reaching the town riders turn left again and head onto the A385, go over the A38 again and rejoin minor roads to a finish near South Brent.

This was Shaw’s first open time trial win of the season – but it’s not for want of trying. He was second in the Plymouth Corinthian CC sporting 16 last weekend as well as the City Cycle Couriers 10 on April 11. He last rode the Avonwick course on April 4 in the Plymouth Corinthian CC event, when he was 48 seconds slower than today and had to settle for third.

Next Sunday Shaw will be going for glory once again when he rides the Tri-Logic 10, which incorporates the South West District Championships, and hopes to take part in the Virtual CC 25 the following weekend in South Wales.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name  Club  Time

1     Robert Shaw Plymouth Corinthian CC 22:37

2     Tom Scorer  Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA      23:37

3     Robert Willcocks Royal Air Force Cycling Association     23:38

4     Callum Start     Mid Devon CC     24:46

5     Andrew Parnowski City Cycle Couriers RT 24:48

6     Nick Blight Nopinz Motip Race Team 24:51

6     James Cartlidge  Plymouth Corinthian CC 24:51

8     Mark Szender     Exeter Whs CC    25:02

9     Rob Scott   City Cycle Couriers RT 25:14

10    James Pearcy     Mid Devon CC     25:40

11    Harry Loader     Mid Devon CC     25:44

12    Bobby Cowsill    Kibosh      25:55

13    Ken Holder  City Cycle Couriers RT 25:56

14    Roger Sheridan   North Devon Wheelers   26:14

15    Sam Beaton  Plymouth Corinthian CC 26:19

16    Robin Delve Mid Devon CC     26:59

16    Mark Sanders     Mid Devon CC     26:59

16    Kevin Weymouth   Mid Devon CC     26:59

19    Henry Howells    Mid Devon CC     27:38

20    Craig Woodward   Plymouth Corinthian CC 27:41

21    Chris O'Connor   Exeter Whs CC    27:42

22    John Morse  Penzance Wheelers CC   27:54

23    Neil Minion City Cycle Couriers RT 27:56

24    Christian Bird   North Devon Wheelers   27:57

25    Rob Barrow  City Cycle Couriers RT 28:13

26    Richard Taylor   Exeter Whs CC    28:36

27    Martina Geraghty Penzance Wheelers CC   29:34

27    Catherine Hilton Sid Valley CC    29:34

29    Pete Moon   Team DCP    29:50

30    Tom Cox     Saint Piran 29:57

31    Nathan Gale City Cycle Couriers RT 30:16

32    Rob Lee     Plymouth Corinthian CC 30:22

33    Kari Eilertsen   Alltrax     31:36

34    Peter Pugh  Plymouth Corinthian CC 31:49

35    Andrew Walke     Plymouth Corinthian CC 32:29

36    Philip Young     Alltrax     32:58

37    Anja Roeding     Exeter Whs CC    34:00

38    Ian Scott   City Cycle Couriers RT 34:09

39    Cordelia Preece  Tavistock Whs CC 34:33

40    Chris Murdoch    Revo Racing 37:32

41    Stephen Wright   Team DCP    39:53

      Stuart Biesheuvel Exeter Whs CC    DNF

      Joshua Rochester-Greet Kibosh      DNF

      Craig Morris     Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA      DNS

      Anthony Green    Penzance Wheelers CC   DNS Apology

      Michael Beaton   Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA      DNS Apology

      David Hall  Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA      DNS Apology

      Frankie McBride  Mid Devon CC     DNS

      Morgan Gibson    Mid Devon CC     DNS

      Ian Myers   Mid Devon CC     DNS Apology

      Andrew Perkins   Mid Devon CC     DNS Apology