Bec CC (50% veterans)(inc. VTTA sry/ssx)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Aug-21
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: G25/93
  • Closing Date: 03-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Critchlow and Freeman battle to victories in Bec CC 25

  • Published: 15 Aug 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Veteran Andy Critchlow (Norwood Paragon CC) clinched his first open victory of the season in the Bec CC 25, while Gemma Freeman (Sussex Revolution Velo Club) won the women’s event.

Critchlow, aged 47, had 11 top-six finishes to his name in a consistent season coming into the event and took his first victory of the campaign in a time of 52 minutes and 26 seconds.

The G25/93 is a course split into two seconds starting and finishing near Steyning in West Sussex.

The first part saw riders complete an undulating 15-mile loop heading out on the B2135 through Ashurst, Partridge Green and West Grinstead before heading back south on the A24 into a slight headwind and then turning onto the A283 back to Steyning.

The second section was a more traditional flat out and back along the A283 from Steyning down to Shoreham-by-Sea before making the return journey.

Earlier this season Critchlow finished fifth in the Sussex CA 25 on the same course clocking 52-46 on that occasion.

In good conditions Critchlow went 20 seconds faster on this occasion beating Simon McNamara (HuntBikeWheels.Com) into second.

In a tight battle for second McNamara’s time of 52-43 was just four seconds faster than Matthew Smith (Team TMC).

In the women’s event Freeman, who also won the Brighton Mitre CC hilly 25 in April, finally clinched her second win of the season clocking 1-03-57.

Anouska Greenaway (Brighton Mitre CC) pushed Freeman all the way for victory but fell just 18 seconds short finishing in 1-04-15.

Tracey Williams (Brighton Excelsior CC) finished third on this occasion in 1-06-58.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Andy Critchlow (Norwood Paragon CC) 52.26
2 Simon McNamara (HuntBikeWheels.Com) 52.43
3 Matthew Smith (Team TMC) 52.47

1 Gemma Freeman (Sussex Revolution Velo Club) 1:03.57
2 Anouska Greenaway (Brighton Mitre CC) 1:04.15
3 Tracey Williams (Brighton Excelsior CC) 1:06.58