Brighton Mitre CC (hilly)(max 120 riders 6 events)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 31-May-21
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: GS/995
  • Closing Date: 18-May-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bentley and Sumpton power to hilly 10 victory

  • Published: 01 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Olivia Bentley (High Wycombe CC) set a new women’s course record on her way to victory in the Brighton Mitre CC hilly 10 in West Sussex on Bank Holiday Monday, while Matt Sumpton (Dulwich Paragon CC) was quickest of the men.

Bentley’s time of 28-47 was a new course record by an impressive 1-11, and good enough for victory on the day by more than seven minutes with Eastbourne Rovers CC’s Anita Turner second fastest female.

Overall 28-year-old Sumpton was quickest with 24-18 which gave him the win by 15 seconds from Paul Newsome (Project 51) while Mark Emsley (Team TMC) was third, another 56 seconds back.

Team TMC were the best team once again having also taken that prize in the earlier 10-mile event, this time Mark Emsley, Martin Gibbs and James Ryan making up the winning trio.

Below the podium places, Kevin Nelson (Crawley Wheelers) was just eight seconds off third-placed Emsley, while Theo Tadros (trainSharp) was fifth with 26-02.

Tadros was one of several riders who had ridden both the morning’s Brighton Mitre 10-mile events, with some even tackling three 10-mile efforts throughout the morning.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1st Man:               Matt Sumpton                  Dulwich Paragon CC                                        24  18

2                              Paul Newsome                 Project 51                                                            24  33

3                              Mark Emsley                      Team TMC                                                          25  29

4                              Kevin Nelson                      Crawley Whls.                                                    25  37

5                              Theo Tadros                       Trainsharp                                                           26  02

6                              Martin Gibbs                      Team TMC                                                          26  24

1st Woman:  Olivia Bentley                           High Wycombe CC                                           28  47 (women’s course record by 1:11)

2nd Woman:  Anita Turner                             Eastbourne Rovers CC                                    36  18

1st Team:  Team TMC   1  19  55  (Mark Emsley Martin Gibbs, James Ryan  28  02)