ECCA (150 Solos)(Pref to slowest riders)(Members of ECCA affiliated clubs only)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-Sep-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: E2/10
  • Closing Date: 31-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Thienel and Davies clinch victories at ECCA 10

  • Published: 13 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Samuel Thienel (Shaftesbury CC) took his first victory of the season in a closely fought ECCA 10, while Laura Davies (Orwell Velo) was a clear winner in the women’s event.

Thienel, from Upminster, recorded a winning time of 20 minutes exactly to take victory by just six seconds.

The 27-year-old placed second in the ECCA 10 on the same course last month and went one second and one place better on this occasion.

The E2/10 saw riders start outside Six Miles Bottom and travel out and back along the A11 down to Fourwentways before making the return journey.

A tight battle for the victory saw Thienel come out on top just six seconds quicker than Nick Morgan (Hitchin Nomads CC) who finished runner-up and is himself looking for a first win of the season.

The top six riders were separated by 39 seconds with veteran Peter Harding (Chelmer CC) finishing third clocking 20-17 which was just five seconds faster than Alex Purcell (CC Sudbury).

David Harding was third veteran on scratch finishing fifth overall in 20-26.

Thienel also led Shaftesbury CC to the team award alongside Nick Howick (21-18) and Stephen Murphy (22-34).

The only tandem competing was Christopher and Joanne York (Maldon & District CC) who posted a time of 24-16.

In the women’s event Davies continued her impressive first season of open time trial action by taking another win in a time of 22-19.

Davies also won the Stowmarket & District CC 10 last weekend and tasted victory once again this time out.

Quickest veteran Karen Aylen (Maldon & District CC) finished second overall in 23-23 while fellow veteran Kerry Tate (Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club) took third in 24-06.

Julia Freeman (Easterley Road Club) was third veteran on scratch a further six seconds back (24.12) and fifth place overall.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Samuel Thienel (Shaftesbury CC) 20.00
2 Nick Morgan (Hitchin Nomads CC) 20.06
3 Peter Harding (Chelmer CC) 20.17
4 Alex Purcell (CC Sudbury) 20.22
5 David Harding (Chelmer CC) 20.26
6 James Wizard (Bedfordshire Road CC) 20.39

1 Laura Davies (Orwell Velo) 22.19
2 Karen Aylen (Maldon & District CC) 23.23
3 Kerry Tate (Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club) 24.06
4 Julia Freeman (Easterley Road Club) 24.12
5 Ann Shuttleworth (Cambridge CC) 24.55
6 Katie-Ann Elliston (Southend Wheelers) 24.57