• Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Aug-21
  • Time: 06:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: D12/1
  • Closing Date: 03-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Parkin and Fairclough battle to victories in WCTTCA & LTTCA 12 hour

  • Published: 17 Aug 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
David Parkin

David Parkin (Chorley Cycling Club) battled to victory by just three miles in the WCTTCA & LTTCA 12 hour in Cheshire, while Michelle Fairclough (Salford Cycling Club) won the women’s event.

Parkin, aged 34, recorded a distance of 282.96 miles in the 12 hours over roads in Cheshire and Shropshire to win the event.

The D12/1 saw riders start near the headquarters in Farndon before heading onto the A49 and then A41 to Prees Heath.

The second section saw riders travel through Tern Hill and then onto the out and back course between Espley and Shawbirch.

Riders then headed back to Prees Heath before entering the Quina Brook Circuit with one lap consisting of 12.62 miles.

Finally competitors entered the 8.18-mile finishing circuit taking in the A525.

Parkin, from Manchester, won the SCCA & WCTTA 100 last month and showed his endurance for the first time over 12 hours to take a slender victory.

Michelle Fairclough

Experienced veteran Victor Chetta (Pirate Juice CC) led the chase behind and pushed Parkin all the way for victory falling just three miles short clocking 279.11 miles in the 12-hour period.

Fellow veteran Daniel Shackleton (ABC Centreville) was also involved in the battle for victory but had to settle for third place finishing a further five miles behind covering 274.13 miles.

Meanwhile, in the tandem competition John Swinnerton (Crewe Clarion) and Adam Meadowcroft (Rapha Cycling Club) recorded a distance of 205.64 miles.

Fairclough, aged 45, was the only woman competitor and took victory covering 211.23 miles over the 12-hour length.

On her last outing Fairclough finished third in the Manchester & District Ladies CA 25 earlier this month but won on this occasion.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1              David Parkin       Chorley Cycling Club       282.96

2              Victor Chetta     Pirate Juice CC   279.11

3              Daniel Shackleton            ABC Centreville 274.13

4              Alan Chorley      Seamons CC       263.85

5              Colin Hayes         Liverpool Century RC      260.31

6              Sam  Taylor         Weaver Valley CC             257.74

7              Jed Friskney       MULE .C.C.          245.96

8              Ronan O'Cualain               Seamons CC       244.27

9              Paul Russell        Springfield Financial Racing Team             242.69

10           John Lowe           Withington Wheelers     235.48

11           Jamie Pleavin     Liverpool Century RC      234.85

12           James Meldrum Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)  231.98

13           Chris Hopkinson               Team Hoppo      228.75

14           Nigel Briggs         South Pennine RC            228.55

15           Simon Clifton     Liverpool Braveheart Bicycle Club             226.82

16           Ian Peacock        Leek CC - Den Engel Belgian Bar 211.55

17           Michelle Fairclough         Salford Cycling Club         211.23

18           Philip Gleave     Congleton CC     208.83

19           Ian Casson          Birkenhead Victoria CC  207.74

20           Roger Squire      Fibrax Wrexham RC         202.65

21           Rob Rix Southport CC     157.58



1              John Swinnerton/Adam Meadowcroft    Crewe Clarion Wheelers/Rapha Cycling Club        205.64