RTTC National Circuit Championship /Merlin Cycles Classic Series (5 of 6)(South East Midlands DC)(Men) (Entries close 11/05/21)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Jun-21
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 32.5 Miles
  • Course: NC16N
  • Closing Date: 11-May-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran

Fennell charges to victory by a minute in National Circuit Championship

  • Published: 06 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell

Christopher Fennell (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) returned to the top spot of a national podium by winning the RTTC National Circuit Championship incorporating round five of the Merlin Cycles Classic Series.

The 25-year-old finish second in three national championships last season including the National Circuit Championships.

However, he reclaimed his National Circuit Championship covering the 32-5-mile rural Nottinghamshire course in a winning time of one hour, six minutes and 50 seconds – over a minute clear of his nearest rival.

The NC16N course saw riders complete three laps of a loop around the rural roads of Northamptonshire starting and finishing in Naseby.

Completing a rectangle course riders headed out towards Clipston and Sibbertoft on minor roads before joining the A5199 for a short section before turning off before Welford and following the River Avon back to the finish.

Fennell continued his winning run this season of six wins from as many rides recording an average speed of over 29.1 miles per hour.

Michael Gill (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) has also been on stellar form this season taking three wins from as many rides.

However, after making the long trip down from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne he was beaten into second on this occasion clocking 1-07-52.

A close battle for the remaining medal saw three riders separated by just seven seconds after 32.5 miles of racing.

Under-23 rider Thomas Day (SEG Racing Academy) just had enough to take third in 1-10-01 just two seconds faster than Phil Williams (Team Bottrill) while George Peden (Team PB Performance) was seven seconds off a medal placing clocking 1-10-08.

Matthew Smith (Drag2Zero) was quickest veteran on scratch in 1-10-46 ahead of Richard Oakes (Team Ohten Aveas) in second (1-12-15) while David Mead (Race Rapid) was third in the category (1-13-16).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.