Ratae Road Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-Sep-21
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: A10/13
  • Closing Date: 24-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Perrett and Sturgess are convincing victors in Ratae Road Club 10

  • Published: 07 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
William Perrett

William Perrett (AeroLab Ward WheelZ) added another victory to his collection in the Ratae Road Club 10, while Lucy Sturgess (Ratae RC) was the women’s winner.

The 25-year-old prepared for next weekend’s National 10 Mile Championship by recording a season’s best time of 18 minutes and 53 seconds to take a clear victory.

The A10/13 saw riders start north of Ratcliffe on the Wreake, near Syston, before heading out north easterly on the A46 to the Six Hill Service Station before completing a short triangle-shaped loop before making the return leg.

The win was Perrett’s third of the season and he recorded an average speed of over 31.7 miles per hour on his way to victory.

Veteran Mike Jones (OVB) led a tight battle for third place which saw three riders separated by just 10 seconds.

Jones led the way clocking 20-29 for second overall ahead of fellow veteran David Mead (Race Rapid) whose time of 20-37 for third was just two seconds quicker than Toby Atkins (UpShift Nutrition Race Team) who narrowly missed the podium positions.

Quickest junior rider was Callum Twelves (Team Ohten Aveas) whose time of 21-39 was good enough for seventh place overall.

In the women’s event Sturgess brought home a victory for the hosting club clocking a time of 25-43.

The 35-year-old was taking part in her first open event of the season and recorded an average speed of over 23.3 miles per hour on her way to victory.

Leading veteran woman Pamela Moore (Coalville Whs) finished second overall in 26-41 while fellow veteran and team-mate Caroline Gordon finished third (28-05).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.