Velo Club Long Eaton

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 04-Apr-21
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: A10/19
  • Closing Date: 23-Mar-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Peckover and Denman power to victories in VC Long Eaton 10

  • Published: 05 Apr 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Oliver Peckover

Oliver Peckover (UpShift Nutrition Race Team) and Jessica Denman (Ilkeston Cycle Club) got their seasons off to a perfect start by taking victories in the Velo Club Long Eaton Ern Butler 10-mile time trial.

Peckover, from Nottingham, won two time trials last season including the Rutland CC 10 and Leicestershire RC 10 and was once again in top spot.

Despite chilly conditions the 22-year-old recorded an average speed of 30.5 miles per hour on his way to clocking a winning time of 19 minutes and 40 seconds.

The A10/19 course saw riders start on the A516 before joining the A50 on the out and back course.

Peckover was the only rider the break the 20-minute barrier with veteran Richard Oakes (Team Ohten Aveas) leading the charge for second in 20-12.

Taking the final podium position was Alex Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) whose time of 20-23 was 22 seconds faster than leading under-23 George Wood (Cycling Sheffield).

Jess Denman

Matt Bottrill was second veteran on the day in 21-01, just seven seconds quicker than fellow veteran and Team Bottrill team-mate Neal Parkin. Another Team Bottrill rider, Lucas Jowett, was fastest junior in 21-59.

Denman, aged 28 and from Derby, missed time trial competition last season and her return was a winning one clocking a time of 25-49, an average speed of 23.2 miles per hour.

Leading veteran Jo Corbett (Sherwood CC) took second spot in 26-38.

Meanwhile, under-23 rider Isobel Conibear (Districts of Hamwic Cyclesport) finished third in 27-35 just five seconds quicker than second veteran and fourth placed overall Claire Davies (Hinckley Cycle Racing Club).

Gillian Campbell (Born to Bike – Bridgtown Cycles) was third veteran woman after her time of 29-31 was five seconds quicker than Pamela Moore (Coalville Wheelers).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A full gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here