Manchester & District Ladies CA (Women)Cheshire points series Cheshire points series 9 of 20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-Jun-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: J2/3
  • Closing Date: 25-May-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Greenwood and Bradbury quickest at Manchester 10

  • Published: 06 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Macclesfield Wheelers’ rider Monica Greenwood was victorious in the Manchester and District Ladies’ CA 10-mile time trial near Cranage in Cheshire on Saturday, while Andrew Bradbury (Congleton CC) was best of the men.

Greenwood, 32, clocked 23-25 to take the win by just over one minute from Anna Weaver (East Lancashire RC), while Emily Martin (Weaver Valley CC) was third, 1-35 behind Greenwood’s pace.

Of the invited men, 34-year-old Bradbury was quickest having clocked 20-20 to win that category by just three seconds from Manchester BC’s Alex Royle, while David Parkin (Salford CC) was third with 20-54.

Some riders clocked fast times but many were held up by cows crossing on parts of the course, while heavy traffic also caused issues with a combination of good weather and road closures also contributing to heavy traffic with junction 19 of the M6 being closed as well as an accident on the A34.

There was a personal best performance for juvenile Nicholas Smith (Westmead Team 88) who clocked 29-10 in his efforts to stay clear of his dad who was off four minutes behind, while the happiest rider was Paul Robinson (Lyme Racing Club) who was completing his first time trial since breaking his back and neck in a mountaineering accident in 2019.

While Greenwood, Weaver and Martin secured the podium finishes, Claire Harrison (Congleton CC) was just five seconds back in fourth, while fifth went to her team-mate Lucy Rogers and sixth to Bury Clarion rider Katherine Swithenbank.

And the men’s event saw a good close battle for the top three, with David Crawley (Velotik Racing Team) being just three seconds off the podium with 20-57, while Tristan Pilling (Univ of Derby CC) was fifth in 21-23.

Greenwood’s victory comes after she placed second in her first open time trial of the season, finishing just 11 seconds behind the winner in the North Lancashire Road Club 10 back in April.

The event used the J2/3 course which begins on Twemlow Lane to the east of Cranage and heads through Twemlow Green and onto the A535. After passing Jodrell Bank it continues north to the turn at Chelford Road roundabout. Riders complete the ten miles near Twemlow Green.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name  Club  Actual Time

1     Monica Greenwood Macclesfield Wheelers  23:25

2     Anna Weaver East Lancashire RC     24:26

3     Emily Martin     Weaver Valley CC 25:00

4     Claire Harrison  Congleton CC     25:05

5     Lucy Rogers Congleton CC     25:23

6     Katherine Swithenbank  Bury Clarion CC  26:08

7     Lucy Bulkeley    Velotik Racing Team    26:12

8     Lynsey Astles    Congleton CC     26:20

9     Gail Lowe   Congleton CC     26:21

10    Sally Cunliffe   Ruthin Cycling Club    26:29

11    Jeanette Barber  Seamons CC  28:07

12    Kerry Gleave     Congleton CC     28:14

13    Alison Stephenson Congleton CC     29:29

14    Lesley Norbury   Congleton CC     30:06



Pos   Name  Club  Time

1     Andrew Bradbury  Congleton CC     20:20

2     Alexander Royle  Manchester Bicycle Club      20:23

3     David Parkin     Salford Cycling Club   20:54

4     David Crawley    Velotik Racing Team    20:57

5     Tristan Pilling  University of Derby Cycling Club  21:23

6     Ben Norbury Congleton CC     21:35

7     Stephen Dooley   Seamons CC  21:48

8     Daniel Shackleton ABC Centreville  21:57

9     Sam  Taylor Weaver Valley CC 21:58

10    Adrian Hughes    Seamons CC  22:01

11    George Booth     TricentralUk     22:05

12    Darren Maironis  Velotik Racing Team    22:09

13    Kevin Blades     Bury Clarion CC  22:29

14    James Brayford   Lyme Racing Club 22:47

15    Ross Hooley Innovation Racing 22:50

16    Matthew Last     Manchester Bicycle Club      22:52

17    Robert  Pollen   Ashley Touring CC 22:55

18    Richard Collins  Wigan Whs CC     23:00

19    Jonathan Lloyd   Westmead Team 88 23:11

20    Daniel  Chesters Warrington Road Club/Horton Light Engineering 23:13

21    Louis Thomas-Messenger Macclesfield Wheelers  23:18

22    Philip Gleave    Congleton CC     23:18

23    Andy Gray   Congleton CC     23:19

24    Austin Foy  North Lancashire Road Club   23:28

25    Neil Swithenbank Bury Clarion CC  23:35

26    Mat Stephenson   Congleton CC     23:49

27    Kevin Woodward   Salford Cycling Club   24:07

28    Robert Bagot     Warrington Road Club/Horton Light Engineering 24:08

29    Paul Robinson    Lyme Racing Club 24:29

30    Tim Smith   Westmead Team 88 24:44

31    David Tobin Manchester Wheelers    25:03

32    George Aldridge  Birkenhead North End CC      26:25

33    Paul Barber Seamons CC  26:43

34    Adrian Fox  Congleton CC     28:21

35    Nicholas Smith   Westmead Team 88 29:10

36    John Leach  Rossendale RC    29:54