Manchester & District TTA (Cheshire Points Series 1 of 20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Oct-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: J4/20
  • Closing Date: 05-Oct-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Ribbands and Loftus go fastest in Manchester & District TTA 10

  • Published: 17 Oct 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Alastair Ribbands

Alastair Ribbands (Manchester Wheelers) recorded his sixth victory of the season taking a clear win in the Manchester & District TTA 10, while junior rider Amy Loftus (East Bradford CC) was the fastest female rider.

Ribbands, aged 38, finished third on the same course last weekend but went two places better on this occasion in a winning time of 20 minutes and 23 seconds.

The undulating course of the J4/20 saw riders start on Moss Lane, near Byley, before heading out to turn onto the A50 at Cranage and head north.

Once competitors reached Toft they headed back south on the B5081 back through Lower Peover to the finish.

Unlike the wet event held the previous week this time riders were met by dry and reasonably warm conditions with only a slight wind on some sections of the course for riders to contend with.

However, riders did have to contend with tractors, hedge cutters and horses on the course.

Ribbands, from Altrincham, won the Manchester & District TTA 50 last month and also amongst his wins this season is the Yorkshire RC hill climb back in August.

Scratch rider David Griffiths (Oswestry Paragon CC) won the North Shropshire Wheelers 25 in August but had to settle for second this time out clocking 20-57.

The battle for third could not have been closer with James Foggensteiner (Team PB Performance) and quickest veteran Alan Chorley (Seamons CC) both finishing in 21-26.

Second veteran was Adrian Hughes (Seamons CC) in 22-02 just four seconds quicker than Alistair Rutherford (Manchester Bicycle Club) who was third in the age category(22-06).

Meanwhile, riding in the juniors’ event Loftus was quickest female on the day completing the course in 25 minutes and 21 seconds.

Loftus was also quickest female in the same event last weekend clocking 25-13 on that occasion.

Max Jones led a one-two for Innovation Racing in the junior boys’ category finishing in 23-16 which was nine seconds faster than team-mate Xavier Teece-Round (23-25) while Jonny Robinson (Sportcity Velo) was third in 28-25.

As she did the previous week Gail Lowe (Congleton CC) was quickest senior female finishing in a time of 26-28 beating Jeanette Barber (Seamons CC) into second 27-25 while Alison Stephenson (Congleton CC) was third in 28-11.

Leading the boys’ juveniles competition was Archie Fletcher (Innovation Racing) whose time of 22-53 was also quicker than any junior ahead of Evan Schofield (D2D Sheffield RT) in second (23-25) while Ethan Haughton (Sportcity Velo) was third 25-36.

Quickest juvenile girl was Alice Feetham (Sportcity Velo) who recorded a time of 26-17.

Meanwhile, Lincoln Wheelers dominated the trikes competition with Lez Young winning in 28-07 ahead of team-mate Gary Wright in second (28-19) while Sid Charlton placed third clocking 29-07.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Alastair             Ribbands             Manchester Wheelers   00:20:23                                                              
2 David Griffiths               Oswestry Paragon CC     00:20:57                                                                              
3 James Foggensteiner   Team PB Performance   00:21:26                                                                              
4 Alan   Chorley Seamons CC       00:21:26                                                                              
5 Adrian               Hughes Seamons CC       00:22:02                                                                              
6 Alistair               Rutherford         Manchester Bicycle Club               00:22:06


1 Gail     Lowe     Congleton CC     00:26:28
2 Jeanette          Barber  Seamons CC       00:27:25
3 Alison Stephenson       Congleton CC     00:28:11
4 Lesley Norbury               Congleton CC     00:29:42


1 Max Jones (Innovation Racing) 23.16
2 Xavier Teece-Round (Innovation Racing) 23.25
3 Jonny Robinson (Sportcity Velo) 28.25
Girl: Amy Loftus (East Bradford CC) 25.21

1 Archie Fletcher (Innovation Racing) 22.53
2 Evan Schofield (D2D Sheffield RT) 23.25
3 Ethan Haughton (Sportcity Velo) 25.36

Girl: Alice Feetham (Sportcity Velo) 26.17


1 Lez Young (Lincoln Wheelers CC) 28.07
2 Gary Wright (Lincoln Wheelers CC) 28.19
3 Sid Charlton (Lincoln Wheelers CC) 29.07