• Hide Map
  • Date: 16-May-21
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: B10/43
  • Closing Date: 04-May-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bouttell and O’Brien clinch victories in V.C Norwich 10

  • Published: 16 May 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Jason Bouttell (Team Vision Racing – Silverhook) made it two wins from two events in the V.C Norwich 10, while veteran Hannah O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) won the women’s race.

Bouttell won the Stowmarket & District 20 on his first outing of the season and continued his campaign with a time of 19-17 on this occasion, finishing just seven seconds shy of the course record.

Last season Bouttell finished sixth in the National 10, second in the National 100 and third in the National 50 and has started his campaign with two wins.

The traditional out and back B10/43 course saw riders compete on the A413 between Harleston and Bungay.

Riders were treated to dry conditions despite rain elsewhere in the country and a westerly wind giving them a tailwind on the longer outward leg leading to many riders recording personal bests for the course.

Lloyd Chapman (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) had also come into the event on the back of two wins and proved a tough opponent.

He pushed Bouttell all the way finishing just seven seconds behind in 19-24 while Zachary Herrod (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) took third in 19-40.

Matt O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) was quickest veteran on scratch in 20-18 ahead of Nick Partridge (VC Baracchi) in second (20-56) and Peter Kerry (Plomesgate CC) in third (21-10).

Para-cyclist Ryan Gray (Ride Harder) also posted an impressive time of 21-29 which was good enough for 11th overall.

Meanwhile, quickest juvenile was Mark Lightfoot (Welwyn Whs) clocking 22-30.

Fresh from winning the Orwell Velo 20 earlier this month O’Brien continued her winning run in the women’s race clocking a time of 22-32.

Fellow veterans Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) (23-24) and Verity Smith (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) (23-26) led the battle behind with just two seconds separating them.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.