V.T.T.A. (Nottm & East Mids) (VTTA National Championship)(Vets only)(Preference to VTTA Members) (Cheques payable to K R Gent)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Oct-20
  • Time: 13:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: a25/34
  • Closing Date: 22-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Veteran

Hallam and Carpenter take standard wins in VTTA National 25 Championships

  • Published: 20 Oct 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Angela Carpenter

Ron Hallam (South Pennine RC) and Angela Carpenter (…a3crg) were the fastest riders on standard to clinch the VTTA National 25 Championship victories.

Hallam, aged 90, took the men’s champion’s jersey and cap with a ride of one hour, 11 minutes and 42 seconds giving him a standard time of +22.16.

Meanwhile, Carpenter was quickest on scratch and standard in the women’s event with her time of 54-58 making a standard time of +19.06.

The A25/34 saw riders start on the outskirts of Newark on Trent before joining the A46 immediately climbing near Syerston.

After gradually descending down to Bingham riders faced another rise before descending to the turn.

The return journey saw the riders pass the start mark and continue for a flat finish turning off the A46 and heading back towards Farndon.

Scratch rider Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC) was the quickest rider on scratch clocking 50-20 but could not stop Hallam taking victory on standard having to settle for silver with a time of +22.16.

Keith Ainsworth

Third place for the men on standard was Tim Hood (Team Bottrill) whose finishing time of 51-27 was good enough for seventh overall and a standard bronze medal with +18.32.

Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) finished second on scratch in 50-41 ahead of Robert Gibbons (Race Rapid) who was third on scratch clocking 51-13.

Carpenter also won the VTTA National 10 last month and made it a double by adding the National 25 to her season’s tally.

Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) took second on scratch and standard with her 56-20 equating to +16.53.

Just behind Deborah Moss (Team Merlin) took bronze with her time of 57-02 giving a standard of +16.49.

The club team award on standard went to Lincoln Wheelers with all three riders Ian Pike (+17.37), Dave Mason (+16.31) and Andy Newham (+16.11) all inside the hour on trikes

Finally Nottingham and East Midlands VTTA Group took the group team award with Ron Hallam (+22.16), Geoff Platts (+17.58) and Ian Guilor (+17.57) combining.

Tandem riders Ian Greenstreet and Rachel Elliot (Aerocoach) clocked a time of 47-46 making a standard of +30.17.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* There's a gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography here