Giant Helston (LMTF 09:30)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-Sep-20
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: s101/25
  • Closing Date: 01-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Lampier and Booth smash course records in Giant Helston 25

  • Published: 13 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Erica Booth

Steve Lampier (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) took over three minutes off the course record on his way to winning the Giant Helston 25, while Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) also set a new mark in the women’s event.

Lampier, aged 36, took his first open 25 victory in a time of 48 minutes and 30 seconds which was 31 seconds clear of his nearest rival.

The S101/25 saw riders start near Bodmin on the slip road of the A30 before joining the main road heading south westerly past the Goss Moor Nature Reserve before turning for home near Indian Queens.

The previous men’s course record was held by Conrad Moss of 51-59 set in May 2017.

Road specialist Lampier won the Saint Piran 10 last weekend on his return to time trial action in a time of 20-12 and despite a slight headwind out set a blistering time to smash the previous record.

Riding for Primera- Teamjobs Moss also beat his previous course record in a time of 49-01 on his way to second.

Finally, Tim McEvoy (FTP (Fulfil The Potential) Racing) finished in third place in 49-31.

Veteran Booth won the Wigan Whls 30 last month along with finishing 17th in the National 10 Mile Championship.

She was on form during her visit to the South West setting a new course record of 57 minutes and 50 seconds- beating the previous mark of 1-00-23.

Penzance Wheelers CC team-mates Martina Geraghty (1-01-38) and Angharad Berriman (1-04-32) completed the podium places in second and third respectively.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Steve Lampier (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 48.30
2 Conrad Moss (Primera- Teamjobs) 49.01
3 Tim McEvoy (FTP (Fulfil The Potential) Racing) 49.31

1 Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) 57.50
2 Martina Geraghty (Penzance Wheelers CC) 1:01.38
3 Angharad Berriman (Penzance Wheelers CC) 1:04.32