RTTC National 25 mile Championship (Central DC)(Juniors)(Entries close 08/09/20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Sep-20
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: A25/37
  • Closing Date: 08-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior

Day and Leech clinch maiden National 25 titles

  • Published: 27 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Maddie Leech

Thomas Day (Zannata Galloo Team) and Maddie Leech (PH-MAS Cycling) clinched their maiden National 25-Mile Junior Championships in fine style in Leicestershire.

Day, from Poole in Dorset, won the Closed Circuit Championships and National 10 Championships last season and clinched his first honours of the season in emphatic style.

Day did not start in defence of his National 10 title last month but has shown his form this season with an impressive ride in the Cambridge CC 25 clocking a winning time of 48-11 with an average speed of over 31 miles per hour.

Meanwhile Leech, from Huddersfield, clinched her first national title improving on her bronze medal in the National 10.

The A25/37 saw riders start just outside Seagrave on Park Hill Lane outside the Leicester City Training Ground.

Riders joined the A46 heading north and battled a headwind out passing straight over the A606 before leaving the A46 on Fosse Way and descending to the double roundabout turn and heading for home helped by a tailwind.

On his maiden outing on the A46 course Day stormed around the course in a winning time of 48 minutes and 34 seconds.

Oscar Nilsson-Julien (VC de Londres) finished second in the National 10 last month and had to settle for the runners-up spot again smashing his personal best over the distance with a time of 49-18.

Thomas Day

Scratch rider off Joshua Giddings (HMT Hospitals Giant CT) clinched the final podium spot in 49-39- one place better than his fourth in the National 10.

Lee Valley Youth CC won the team prize with Matthew Lord (53-51), Harrison Powell (54-24) and Alfie Salmon (56-04) combining in 2-44-19.

In the junior women’s event Leech clocked a winning time of 56-35 beating National 10 Champion Abi Smith (Moonglu) into second place (56-41).

A tight battle for third saw Isabel Sharp (Drag2Zero) snatch the final podium position by a single second with her time of 58-52 slightly Eva Callinan (Liv AWOL) 58-53

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.