Sussex CA

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 31-Aug-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: g25/49
  • Closing Date: 18-Aug-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Christensen and Turner charge to victories in Sussex CA 25

  • Published: 01 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Ryan Christensen ( had a long weekend to remember as he completed a double with victory in the Sussex CA 25, while Sally Turner (trainSharp) set a new women’s course record.

Professional road rider Christensen won the Sussex CA 10 on Saturday before making it a double two days later beating his nearest challenger by nine seconds.

The G25/49 course saw riders complete two-and-a-half laps of an undulating course which started at Foxbridge Golf Course before heading south on quiet roads to Kirdford.

Riders then headed west to Sparr Farm Airstrip before heading north before towards Loxwood and then turning off to Ifold and Plaistow before completing the lap.

Ideal conditions greeted riders and a temperate which rose from 12 to 16 degrees Celsius during the morning.

The lumpy circuit, which is used for road races, suited New Zealander Christensen whose time of 53 minutes and 17 seconds was just 22 seconds off the course record.

Christensen has already won two events over 10 miles this season, but this was his first over 25 miles.

Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) fought for the victory all the way but had to settle for second on this occasion just nine seconds back in 53-26.

Another close battle saw Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/B Trainsharp) take third in 53-45, just three seconds quicker than Matthew King (Team PB Performance).

Meanwhile, in the women’s event Turner clocked 1-02-15 taking 51 seconds off Jennifer George’s course record of 1-03-06 set last year.

Veteran Turner also won the women’s event at …a3crg Glorious Goodwood Circuit TT at the begging of August over 11.8 miles.

Lisa Davies (trainSharp) finished second in 1-04-24 while Rebecca Goodwin (Windrush Triathlon Club) completed the podium places in 1-06-29.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Ryan Christensen ( 53.17
2 Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) 53.26
3 Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/B Trainsharp) 53.45
4 Matthew King (Team PB Performance) 53.48
5 Travis Bramley (Plymouth Corinthians CC) 54.01
6 Matthew Smith (Team TMC) 54.46
7 Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Rule 5) 56.08
8 Henrik Persson (Kingston Wheelers CC) 56.26
9 Steven Kane (Team TMC) 56.31
10 Colin McDermott (Festival Road Club) 57.06

1 Sally Turner (trainSharp) 1:02.15
2 Lisa Davies (trainSharp) 1:04.24
3 Rebecca Goodwin (Windrush Triathlon Club) 1:06.29