WCTTCA (WCTTCA 10 of 11)(Cheques to WCTTCA)(preference to WCTTCA club members)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-Sep-20
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: D25/20
  • Closing Date: 01-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Roberts and Owen battle to victories in WCTTCA 25

  • Published: 16 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Danny Glyn Roberts (Clwb Beicio Egni/Energy Cycling Club) showed his post-lockdown form by clinching his first ever open victory in the West Cheshire TTCA 25, while Frances Owen (Wrexham RC) took another victory in the women’s event.

Roberts whose previous best was a fourth place in the Manchester & District TTA 10 before lockdown tasted success with a winning time of 53 minutes and 12 seconds in Shropshire.

Due to roadworks on the A41 the course was changed to the D25/20 with riders starting outside Prees before heading south on the A49 on an out and back course to Battlefield, near Shrewsbury.

The longer return leg saw riders pass the start before finishing shortly before the junction with the A41 near Whitchurch.

Roberts clocked an average speed of 28.195 miles per hour and despite being far from a personal best his time it was enough for victory by 30 seconds.

Luke Pollard (Royal Air Force Cycling Association) finished third in the Wrekinsport 10 last month and went one better on this occasion to take second in 53-42.

Dean Callister (Nova Raiders CC) won a close fight for third place in 54-31 with the next six riders finishing within 19 seconds of a podium position.

Quickest veteran David James Williams (Velotik Racing Team) was one of those finishing seventh in 54-42.

Henri Bedford (Revolution Racing) was quickest junior once again finishing 14th in a time of 56-46.

After winning the Beacon Wheelers 10 the previous weekend Owen was again quickest woman clocking an average speed of 25.14 miles per hour on her way to stopping the clock in 59-40.

Veteran Lucy Rogers (Congleton CC) finished second in 1-01-52 while Deb Hutson-Lumb (Nova Raiders CC) took third stopping the clock in 1-03-38.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.