Team Tor 2000 (cheques to P Rogers)(Entries close 10/10/20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Oct-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: UH20
  • Closing Date: 10-Oct-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Biddle and Coates battle to victories in Team Tor 2000 hill climb

  • Published: 18 Oct 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nicole Coates

Cameron Biddle (Vredestein Basso) started his weekend of hill climb action by chalking up another victory for the season in the Team Tor 2000 hill climb on West Close Hill, while Nicole Coates (Torelli) was fastest woman.

Biddle, aged 22, continued his preparation for next weekend’s National Hill Climb Championships by powering to victory by 19 seconds in Somerset.

West Close Hill is 1.2 miles in length which gets steeper towards the top with the steepest section at around 16% before flattening out for a sprint to the line.

Conditions were cool and overcast for the event with a north easterly breeze blowing, making it feel cool at the exposed finish on top of the climb.

A headwind over the last section also impacted on the finishing times and made it hard to pace for riders.

Biddle had already won the Solihull CC and Mid-Devon CC events and was again in fine form clocking a winning time of five minutes and 34.4 seconds.

The battle for second saw students Carl Jolly (University of Bristol CC) and Oliver Hurdle (University of Southampton RC) battle it out.

Jolly, who won the Sodbury Cycle Sport HC, took second in 5-53.9 six seconds quicker than Hurdle (5-59.1)

Favourite and last man off Joe Norledge (Bristol South CC) was distinctly out of sorts, finishing more than a minute behind winner eventually finishing 18th.

Quickest veteran was Glyndwr Griffiths (73 Degrees Bicycles, WestSide Coaching RT) finishing sixth overall in 6-12.6.

Fastest junior was Tom Williams (Webbs 1902 CC) taking ninth overall in 6-15.8 while Harvey Thomas (Bristol Road Club) was quickest juvenile in 6-35.8.

In the women’s event Coates also continued her preparations for next weekend’s national championships by chalking up a second win from three rides.

Coates also won the Minehead CC hill climb last month and was again triumphant clocking a winning time of 7-03.2.

She was pushed all the way by senior Natalie Grinczer (CAMS -Tifosi) who finished 10 seconds back in 7-13.9 while Clare Good (PDQ Cycle Coaching) in third clocking      7-50.4.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.  



1              Cameron Biddle Vredestein Basso             05:34.4                 

2              Carl Jolly              University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC)             05:53.9                 

3              Oliver Hurdle     University of Southampton RC    05:59.1                 

4              Jacques Coates Team PB Performance   06:04.9                 

5              Nicholas Candy North Road CC   06:09.9                 

6              Glyndwr Griffiths             "73 Degrees Bicycles, WestSide Coaching rt"        06:12.6                 

7              Oscar Hutchings                Team Tor 2000 | KALAS 06:13.2                 

8              Ben Millar            Team Tor 2000 | KALAS 06:14.0                 

9              Tom Williams     Webbs 1902 CC 06:15.8                 

10           Charlie Lacaille   University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC)             06:17.9                 

11           Connah Towers Army Cycling      06:20.7                 

12           Daniel Eastment               1st Chard Wheelers        06:25.8                 

13           Andrew Metherell           Salt and Sham Cycle Club              06:34.8                 

14           Harvey Thomas Bristol Road Club              06:35.8                 

15           Carl Dyson          Leicester Forest CC          06:38.5                 

16           Karl Norris           360VRT 06:40.6                 

17           Matthew Skeats               University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC)             06:44.4                 

18           Joe Norledge     Bristol South Cycling Club             06:48.6                 

19           Liam Cahill           Reflex Racing     06:59.7                 

20           Nicole  Coates   Torelli    07:03.2                 

21           Natalie Grinczer CAMS -Tifosi       07:13.9                 

22           Richard Bennett               Bristol South Cycling Club             07:20.8                 

23           Robin Delve        Mid Devon CC    07:31.0                 

24           David English      Chippenham & District Wheelers              07:36.5                 

25           Nick Pashley       Bristol CX             07:43.2                 

26           Clare Good         PDQ Cycle Coaching        07:50.4                 

27           Richard Emery   Severn Road Club             09:06.2                 

28           Isabelle  Hobday University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC)           09:49.4