Matlock CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 07-Mar-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 22 Miles
  • Course: AH/2
  • Closing Date: 25-Feb-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Brown and Fellows quickest in shortened time trial in Derbyshire

  • Published: 08 Mar 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
David Fellows

David Fellows and Rachael Brown were quickest man and woman in the Matlock CC hilly time trial, which was shortened by three miles from its original 25-mile length on Saturday near Rowsley.

Riding in his second event of the new 2020 season, David Fellows (Solihull CC) made it a perfect start to the year capturing his second victory by a decent margin of 1-44 over the shorter distance as a result of roadworks.

The win, with a time of 56-24 in windy but relatively sound conditions, ensured Fellows matched his tally of wins from 2019 on record in just two events ridden.

Second place went to Daniel Nieto (Loughborough Students CC) riding his first open event on record in 12 months.

Nieto fell short by over a minute of the more experienced Fellows but the 22-year-old was easily within the major placings clocking 58-08 and the last rider under the hour mark, over two minutes quicker than third place.

That third place prize went to Alex Raynard (Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion) who captured his third podium on open event record, one of which being a bronze medal in the 2017 National Hill-Climb Championships.

Raynard finished in 1-00-16.

In the women’s event Rachael Brown (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) topped the timesheets, winning by a narrow 14-second margin, taking her second win on record.

Brown stopped the clock on 1-14-04 to beat Yasmin Marks’ earlier benchmark time.

Marks (Beeston CC) is an experienced rider on courses of the steeper variety and stopped the timing watches on 1-14-18 on her run but eventually her tenure on the winner’s step came to an end after Brown’s performance.

In other categories Steve Gibson (Peak Road Club) was fastest veteran rider finishing fifth overall with a time of 1-01-33, while host club rider Lewis Holmes was quickest juvenile in 1-09-49.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.


Pos  Name Club Gender     Category   Time

1    David Fellows    Solihull CC     Male Senior     56:24

2    Daniel     Nieto Loughborough Students Cycling Club    Male Senior     58:08

3    Alex Raynard    Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion Male Espoir     1:00:16

4    Joseph     Clark CYCLING SHEFFIELD     Male Senior     1:00:22

5    Steve Gibson     Peak Road Club  Male Veteran    1:01:33

6    Kevin White Matlock CC Male Veteran    1:01:44

7    Richard    Golding    Ilkeston Cycle Club   Male Veteran    1:01:52

8    Hamish     Mcdougall  Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion Male     Senior     1:02:55

9    Andrew     Hicklin    Peak Road Club  Male Veteran    1:03:03

10   Paul Armstrong  Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion Male Senior     1:03:32

11   Steve Strange    Matlock CC Male Veteran    1:04:16

12   Trevor     Mayne Birdwell Wheelers     Male Veteran    1:05:01

13   Simon Hale Ilkeston Cycle Club   Male Veteran    1:06:39

14   Jason Harper     Matlock CC Male Veteran    1:07:23

15   Neil Barford    45 RC Male Veteran    1:07:47

16   Lewis Holmes     Matlock CC Male Juvenile   1:09:49

17   Rachael    Brown Pro Vision Cycle Clothing Female     Senior     1:14:04

18   Yasmin     Marks Beeston Cycling Club  Female     Senior     1:14:18

19   Andrew     Marshall   Matlock CC Male Veteran    1:22:34

20   Richard    Gray Norton Wheelers Male Veteran    DNF

21   Tony Grassby    Peak Road Club  Male Veteran    DNS

22   Michael    Wilkinson  North Notts Olympic CC     Male Veteran    DNS

23   Marcus     Fielden    Macclesfield Wheelers Male Veteran    DNS