Croston Velo (Preference North DC Clubs)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 09-Aug-20
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L1015
  • Closing Date: 27-Jul-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bigham strikes again, while Lowden wins in Croston Velo 10

  • Published: 10 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Dan Bigham

Dan Bigham (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) took his second time trial victory of the weekend in the Croston Velo 10 near Levens in Cumbria on Sunday, while Joss Lowden (Drops Cycling) was fastest female.

Bigham clocked a new course record time of 17-52 for the L1015, taking full advantage of great conditions to take the win on the day by five seconds from team-mate Simon Wilson (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) and Kyle Gordon (RT23) who were tied in second spot with 17-57.

28 and from Staffordshire, Bigham had also set a new course record in Saturday’s Nova Raiders 10 in Shropshire, so is clearly a man in good form. But his performance was still 28 seconds shy of beating his personal best for the distance, set three years ago on the now unused V718 course in East Yorkshire.

His winning time of 17-52 in the Croston Velo event on Saturday sliced just two seconds off James Gullen’s previous best for the Levens course set in 2017.

Joss Lowden

Lowden’s time of 19-57 gave her victory in the women’s category by 37 seconds from Joanna Patterson (Pro Endurance Cycling), with Lancashire RC rider Erica Booth third with 21-38.

The reigning National Closed Circuit Champion, Lowden was also due to start the Nova Raiders event but had to wait until the following morning’s Croston Velo event to make her first open appearance of 2020.

Lowden will next be in action on Saturday in the CC Breckland 50-mile event.

In-form Thomas Day (Zannata Galloo Team) was fastest junior and sixth overall with a time of 18-36, beating the next best under-18 rider Josh Tarling (Team Backstedt Bike Performance) by 38 seconds.

The 18-year-old from Poole in Dorset has already racked up three open time trial wins this season, having won two rounds of a3crg’s Goodwood time trial series in West Sussex.

* A full gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here


1 Dan Bigham (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 17.52
=2 Simon Wilson (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 17.57
=2 Kyle Gordon (RT 23) 17.57
4 Kieran Morris (Team Bottrill) 18.01
5 Thomas Hutchinson (Team Kirkley Cycles) 18.20
6 Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) 18.28
7 Thomas Day (Zannata Galloo Team) 18.36
8 Tom Rigby (Croston Velo) 19.05
9 George Elliott (Innovation Racing) 19.08
10 Ben Harrison (Crimson Orientation Marketing RT) 19.13

1 Joss Lowden (Drops Cycling) 19.57
2 Joanna Patterson (Pro Endurance Cycling) 20.34
3 Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) 21.38
3 Charlotte Boothman (Team Lusso) 21.44