North Lancs RC (Hilly)(NLTTA Spoco)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Mar-20
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 30 Miles
  • Course: L309
  • Closing Date: 25-Feb-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Royle and Wiejak battle to victories in North Lancs RC 30 Hilly

  • Published: 09 Mar 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Alex Royle

Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) took victory by over a minute as riders faced tough conditions in the North Lancs RC hilly 30, while Christina Wiejak (Jadan Cycle Space- Vive Le Velo) was quickest woman.

Royle, aged 26 and from High Peak in Derbyshire, felt at home in the windy and exposed Ribble Valley course taking a comfortable win.

It was the second year the L309 course was used for the event and riders had a tailwind along the undulating A59 between Clitheroe and Broughton before facing the headwind home.

Royle clocked an average speed of 26 miles per hour as he set a winning time of one hour, eight minutes and 15 seconds.

Last year’s winner Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) had to settle for second on this occasion with a time of 1:09.46 while Philip Graves (VC York) finished third (1:10.09).

“It was a rapid tailwind on the way out and was a block headwind on the way back,” said Royle.

Christina Wiejak

“I managed to get around the course beforehand in my car and that changed my gear selection. That was pretty important, and I rode with a smaller chain ring than I would on a faster course.

“I had a good winter and I’m much better prepared than last year and I’m building on what I did last year.

“I had a couple of years out, last year was my first back and I had a really good year so hopefully I can build on that. I’m enjoying it more than ever.”

Royle is hoping to improve on his sixth place in the National 25 last year while also advocating events on hilly and sporting courses.

Meanwhile, Wiejak continued her winning form in 2020 following her victory in the Velo Club Cumbria 31.2 event last weekend.

On this occasion she clocked a winning time of one hour, 23 minutes and nine seconds.

Junior Maddie Leech (PH-MAS Cycling) took second in 1:25.38 while veteran Karen Bailey (East Lancashire RBC) took third in 1:37.08.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here



1 Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) 1:08.15

2 Richard Bideau (Pendle Forests CC) 1:09.46

3 Philip Graves (VC York) 1:10.09

4 Ben Barlow (Kendal Cycle Club) 1:13.32

5 David Ashton (Aerobic Power RT) 1:14.02

6 Thomas Clough (Springfield Finance RT) 1:14.10

7 Alastair Ribbands (Manchester Whls) 1:15.46

8 Sean Owens (Springfield Finance RT) 1:16.47

9 Chris Watts (Ilkley CC)       1:17.45

10 Paul David Fleming (Preston Whls) 1:17.56


1 Christine Wiejak (Jadan Cycle Space)        1:23.09

2 Maddie Leach (PH Mas Cycling)    1:25.38

3 Karen Bailey (East Lancs RC)        1:37.08