Sussex Nomads CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Oct-19
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: gh/90
  • Closing Date: 15-Oct-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bell and Palmer top the podium in East Sussex

  • Published: 27 Oct 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Kate Palmer

Bill Bell and Kate Palmer were crowned as the fastest male and female riders at the Sussex Nomads CC hill climb event which took place near Westmeston in East Sussex on Sunday morning.

Bell (Bigfoot CC) successfully defended his title at this event as he clocked the fastest time of the day to top the overall standings, finishing his run with a time of 4-37.7.

This was the 44-year-old rider’s first victory of the hill climb season with his previous best finish this year being the third place he achieved at the Wigmore CC event at the end of September.

Kate Palmer (Brixton Cycles Club) topped the podium in the women’s event after finishing with a time of 6-04.9.

The 29-year-old adds this victory to the one she achieved earlier in the month at the Bec CC hill climb.

She also finished on the podium at the Kingston Wheelers CC event at the end of September and will be happy that she was able to finish her season in such strong fashion.

Jon Saunders (Charlotteville Cycling Club) finished second overall after clocking a time of 4-45.6. Chris Barker (Sussex Revolution Velo Club) completed the podium as he finished joint second after he also finished with a time of 4-45.6.

Matt Lui (Brighton Mitre CC) topped the podium as the fastest junior rider as he clocked a time of 5-06.4.

Alice Gilmore (Brighton Mitre CC) was the fastest junior girl as she crossed the line with a time of 6-47.5 respectively.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Ben Gretton.



1. Bill Bell (Bigfoot CC)        4.37.7

=2. Jon Saunders (Charlotteville CC) 4.45.6

=2 Chris Barker (Sussex Revolution Velo Club)       4.45.6

4. Calvin Cheung (Hub Velo) 4.45.7

5. Richard Cartland (South Downs Bikes)     4.46.9

6. Guy Bridgewood (Rapha CC)        4.51

7. Daniel Pink (GS Avanti)    4.51.7

8. James Scrivener (Vector Cycling Race Team)       4.53.4

9. Giles Davy (GS Avanti)     4.56.4

10. Ross Bernard (Kingston Wheelers CC)    5.00.8



1. Kate Palmer (Brixton Cycles Club)            6.04.9

2. Katie Simmonds (Horsham Cycling)          6.42.6

3. Anya Tamplin (Lewes Wanderers CC)      6.44.0