Southern Counties CU (max 90 riders)(Association members only)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 18-May-19
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: G10/41
  • Closing Date: 07-May-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Smith and George on top in Surrey

  • Published: 19 May 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Mark Smith

Mark Smith and Jennifer George were the fastest male and female respectively at the Southern Counties CU 10-mile time trial that took place on Saturday near North Holmwood.

Smith (Crawley Wheelers) clocked 20-31 to set the fastest time by any rider that day and clinch top prize.

The Crawley Wheelers rider was last victorious at the Worthing Excelsior CC 25 last weekend as well as topping the podium at the Sussex CA 10 at the start of the month.

The 45-year-old is next due to ride at the Hounslow & District Wheelers 100-mile time trial next weekend which has attracted a strong field of riders.

Adrian Blacker (C&N Cycles RT) finished his run with a time of 22-24 to finish second on the podium. This was Blacker’s first podium finish of the new open season, and he will be looking to add more over the coming months.

He is next also set to ride at the Hounslow & District 100 next weekend.

The final spot on the podium was claimed by Iain Duncan (Crawley Wheelers) who finished his run with a time of 22-25 and won the handicap category.

Jennifer George (Torelli) clocked a time of 23-00 to finish as the fastest women and achieve fourth place overall.

George was last victorious at the Sussex CA 10 which took place at the start of the month and is next set to ride at the a3crg Summer Women’s Ten Series on Wednesday.

Under the ‘one rider, one prize’ rule Maria Victoria Vazquez-Tojeiro (Crawley Wheelers) collected the prize money for fastest women as George claimed the same prize for her fourth-place overall finish and Vergette was third in the handicap category.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Ben Gretton.




1. Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers)    20.31

2. Adrian Blacker (C&N Cycles RT)  22.24

3. Iain Duncan (Crawley Wheelers)    22.25

4. Jennifer George (Torelli)     23.00

5. Richard Tully (Elite Cycling)          23.14

6. Jason Hunter (Pearson Cycling Club)         23.25

7. Marcus Edwards (Kingston Phoenix RC)  23.27

8. Jim Ford (Horsham Cycling)          23.28

9. Gavin Hughes (Kingston Phoenix RC)      23.48

10. Christian Yates (East Grinstead CC)        23.54



1. Iain Duncan (Crawley Wheelers)    19.35

2. Robin Johnson (Brighton Mitre CC)          19.39

3. Kate Vergette (Elite Cycling)         19.41



1. Jennifer George (Torelli)     23.00

2. Kate Vergette (Elite Cycling)         27.11

3. Maria Victoria Vazquez-Tojeiro (Crawley Wheelers)         27.24