Redhill CC (Sporting)(50% preference to women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Feb-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 18 Miles
  • Course: gs/478
  • Closing Date: 05-Feb-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wright and Simmonds on song in Redhill CC sporting 18

  • Published: 17 Feb 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Pat Wright

Pat Wright and Katie Simmonds were fastest male and female riders at the Redhill CC sporting 18-mile time trial near Dorking in Surrey on Sunday morning.

Wright, the 34-year-old Paceline RT rider from nearby Kingston, clocked 39-51 to win the event by 21 seconds from Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC), while Ben Elliott (C and N Cycles) was another four seconds off the pace in third.

And in the women’s event Katie Simmonds (Horsham Cycling) was fastest in 53-13.

The popular annual event uses the GS/478 course from a start to the south east of Dorking near Westcott, along the A25 to Abinger Hammer and then south through Holmbury St Mary and on to Okewood Hill before looping back up through Ockley on the A29 through Beare Green and South Holmwood before finishing on Horsham Road just before North Holmwood.

Wright’s win left Maybank to settle for second, a year after he had been a non-finisher in the 2018 event with a mechanical after about ten miles, while third spot for Elliott is an improvement on fourth spot last year as he was more than three and a half minutes quicker this time.

There was a separate prize on offer for riders of road bikes, and that prize went to Grant Fraser, the Paceline RT ride who clocked 43-18 for seventh overall, 52 seconds quicker than the second best road bike, ridden by Neil Harrigan (Gravesend CC).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   First Name  Last Name   Club  Category    Finish Time Bike

1     Pat   Wright      Paceline RT Senior      39:51 TT

2     Liam  Maybank     Twickenham CC    Veteran     40:12 TT

3     Ben   Elliott     C and N Cycles RT Senior      40:16 TT

4     Neil  Lauder      Arctic Tacx RT   Senior      40:23 TT

5     Andrew      Bradbury    Paceline RT Senior      41:15 TT

6     Paul  Burton      Epsom CC    Senior      43:06 TT

7     Grant Fraser      Paceline RT Senior      43:18 R

8     Keith Lea   Paceline RT Veteran     43:52 TT

9     Simon Mumme Paceline RT Senior      44:09 TT

10    Neil  Harrigan    Gravesend CC     Veteran     44:10 R


W     Katie Simmonds    Horsham Cycling  Senior      53:13 TT