Otley CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-Sep-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: v235
  • Closing Date: 03-Sep-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Otley victory for Stead and Sharp

  • Published: 14 Sep 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Ben Stead

ABC Centreville rider Ben Stead and Fiona Sharp (Team Swift) were fastest male and female riders respectively at the Otley CC 25-mile time trial near Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire, on Saturday.

Stead, 37 and from Littleborough, clocked 54-21 to win by 18 seconds from Ed Nicholson (York Cycleworks), while Anthony Ashworth (Wetherby Wheelers) was third, another 37 seconds off the pace.

And Sharp added another victory to her growing list of 2019 wins with a time of 1-01-51 which gave her the victory by more than eight minutes from Otley CC’s Helen Goldthorpe, while Sandra Burrows (Vive le Velo) was third fastest female.

The V235 course begins alongside the A on the A168 to the east of Arkendale, and heads south to Walshford before turning and heading back up all the way to Boroughbridge. The riders complete another run down to Walshford, before heading back up and finishing just above the start point.

Sam Howcroft (Otley CC) clocked 1-04-24 to take the junior prize, while the fastest Espoir was Benjamin Moody (Team Backstedt Bike Performance) with an impressive 57-14.

The prize for over-40 veteran (under the one rider one prize rule) went to John Morgan (Cover Your Car) with 56-16, while the over-50s prize went to Craig Moody (Giant Halifax RT) with 1-00-05. But the over-60 winner went quicker, Tim Garwell (Otley CC) having clocked 59-02.

Fiona Sharp

And the prize for the fastest team went to the Otley CC duo of Sam Howcroft and Tim Garwell, who combined for 2-03-26.

The victory is the third win on Stead’s CTT record this season, having also tasted victory in the Manchester and District TTA 50 last month as well as the Wigan Wheelers two-up charity 25 where he rode with Daniel Shackleton.

But Stead has been in good form for much of the year, having placed second in the Withington Wheelers 10 on August 31, the Manchester DTTA 25 in June, the Blackburn and District CTC two-up 10 in May and the Macclesfield Wheelers 25 in April.

Sharp’s win is her 14th open victory of the season according to her CTT record. She was fastest female at the VTTA National 15-Mile Championship last weekend, and prior to that recent victories have included the VTTA Yorkshire 10 and Team Sportslab 10 in August.

July saw her win the Team Swift 50, while in June she was victorious in the Yorkshire Road Club 25, the Drighlington BC 10 and Hartlepool CC 50.

Sharp proved fastest female in the Selby CC 10 in May, as well as the Drighlington BC 25, while April’s victories included the City RC 10 and VTTA Yorkshire 25. And her season began in March, when she was victorious in the Yorkshire CF 10 and City RC 15.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name        Team  Sex   Cat   Time

1     Ben   Stead ABC Centreville  Male  Sen   54:21

2     Ed    Nicholson   York Cycleworks  Male  Vet 40      54:39

3     Anthony     Ashworth    Wetherby Whs     Male  Vet 50      55:16

4     John  Morgan      Coveryourcar.co.uk RT  Male  Vet 40      56:16

5     Glen  Turnbull    MTS Cycle Sport  Male  Vet 40      56:31

6     Benjamin James   Moody Team Backstedt Bike Performance    Male  Esp   57:14

7     Peter Hook  VC York     Male  Sen   57:53

8     Matthew     Asquith     Team Sportslab   Male  Vet 40      58:23

9     Chris Taylor      Holmfirth C C    Male  Vet 40      59:01

10    Tim   Garwell     Otley CC    Male  Vet 60      59:02

11    Craig Moody Giant Halifax  Race Team     Male  Vet 50      1:00:05

12    Paul  Mapletoft   Kiveton Park Cycling Club    Male  Vet 50      1:01:08

13    Steve Burrows     Vive Le Velo     Male  Vet 60      1:01:17

14    James Meadows     Cleveland Wheelers CC  Male  Sen   1:01:21

15    Mark  Johnson     Yorkshire Road Club    Male  Vet 50      1:01:26

16    James Hewitt      Halifax Imperial Wheelers    Male  Sen   1:01:29

17    Fiona Sharp Team Swift  Female      Vet 40      1:01:51

18    Richard     Keenlyside  Team Bottrill    Male  Vet 40      1:01:57

19    Jymmy Trevor      Hull Thursday RC Male  Vet 40      1:02:00

20    Ross  Burton      Calder Clarion   Male  Vet 40      1:03:15

21    Richard     Dixon       Team Swift  Male  Vet 50      1:03:39

22    Sam   Straw Albarosa CC Male  Sen   1:03:55

23    Michael     Lamb  Kiveton Park Cycling Club    Male  Vet 50      1:03:58

24    Sam   Howcroft    Otley CC    Male  Jun   1:04:24

25    Tom   Maher Horwich Cycling Club   Male  Vet 40      1:04:28

26    Steven      Scott Albarosa CC Male  Vet 40      1:04:33

27    Alasdair    Bruce Yorkshire Road Club    Male  Vet 60      1:05:47

28    Mark  Burtonshaw  Team Swift  Male  Vet 60      1:06:15

29    Colin Birchall    HD Revolutions   Male  Vet 40      1:07:58

30    Matthew     Mullier     Harrogate Nova CC Male  Jun   1:08:37

31    Chris Jones Calderdale Tri Club    Male  Vet 40      1:09:18

32    Helen Goldthorpe  Otley CC    Female      Vet 40      1:10:11

33    Sandra      Burrows     Vive Le Velo     Female      Vet 50      1:12:30

34    Isobel      Fletcher    VC Glasgow South Female      Vet 50      1:20:35

      Jo    Scott Team Swift  Female      Vet 50      DNF

      Rich  Banks Calder Clarion   Male  Vet 50      DNF

      Joe   Howcroft    Otley CC    Male  Esp   DNF

      Andy  Clark Rutland Cycling Club   Male  Vet 50      DNS(Apol)

      Paul  Brierley    Huddersfield RC  Male  Vet 50      DNS(Apol)

      Greg  Jessop      Otley CC    Male  Vet 60      DNS(Apol)

      Joe   Greaves     Bronte Whs  Male  Vet 60      DNS(Apol)

      Daniel      Shaw  Halifax Imperial Wheelers    Male  Vet 50      DNS(Apol)

      Kevin Melia VC Bradford Male  Vet 50      DNS(Apol)

      Liam Walker      University of Sheffield Cycling Club    Male  Sen   DNS