Vive Le Velo (Yorkshire Spoco Event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-Apr-19
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: V433
  • Closing Date: 16-Apr-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Sharp, Lewthwaite and Buss power to victories in Vive Le Vélo 25

  • Published: 28 Apr 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Sarah Lewthwaite

RICHARD Sharp (Team Swift) and Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) made light work of the difficult conditions to take open victories in the Vive Le Vélo 25 with the latter clinching the women’s course record.

Meanwhile, Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial Wheelers) snatched a slender win in the medium gear event to retain the title he won last season.

Taking place on the undulating A165 out and back course, riders travelled south from near Bridlington before turning for home.

A stiff breeze kept the rain off but made the return leg tough, with times slightly down on last year, but there were some strong rides nevertheless.

Sharp, from Hayton near York, finished second in the Barton Wheelers 10 and Stockton Wheelers 23 earlier this season, but went one better on this occasion with a finishing time of 52 minutes and 40 seconds in the men’s open event.

Richard Sharp

Local rider Alex Russell (City RC Hull) led the rest of the field home in second with his 54.30 just three seconds faster than that of Ian Mitchelson (Halifax Imperial Wheelers) in third.

“It was nice to get the win as last year I got a lot of second places,” said Sharp. “It was also nice to support a local event which was really well run. It was a rolling course and was reasonably protected from the wind so it could have been worse.

“Last year I finished second on the course to Adam Duggleby and clocked a time of 51.40 on that occasion. Last year there was a tail-wind back and it was much calmer at the start.”

Despite the slow conditions Lewthwaite, aged 45 and from Leeds, set a new course record in the women’s event with a winning time of one hour, one minute and 47 seconds.

She finished ahead of Hannah Benson (Ilkley CC) in second, who clocked 1:08.24 while Claire Jessop (Otley CC) finished a narrow third.

Buss was again the victor in the 72” Medium Gear event despite being pushed all the way.

His time of 1:00.33 was enough for victory by three seconds from Nick Frewin (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) while Jymmy Trevor (Hull Thursday RC) took third over three minutes behind.

On their first time of organising the event host team Vive Le Vélo clinched the team prize thanks to rides by Steve Burrows, Mel Blackford and Neil Cleminshaw.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1. Richard Sharp (Team Swift)           52.40

2. Alex Russell (City RC Hull)           54.30

3. Ian Mitchelson (Halifax Imperial)  54.33

4. Joe Simons (Albarosa CC)  54.42

5. Harry Lee (Wold Top The Edge RT)          54.52

6. Chris Day (Selby CC)         55.26

7. Pete Nixon (Seacroft Whs) 56.04

8. Stephen Dodds (Scarborough Paragon CC)           56.34

9. James Punton (Transition Race Team)        57.41

10. Steve Burrows (Vive Le Velo)     58.22



1. Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab)           1:01.47

2. Hannah Benson (Ilkley CC)           1:08.24

3. Claire Jessop (Otley CC)    1:10.37

4. Sandra Burrows (Vive Le Velo)     1:10.45

5. Ala Whitehead (Rockingham CC)  1:24:03


Medium Gear:

1. Blair Buss (Halifax Imperial Wh)   1:00.33

2. Nick Frewin (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh)    1:00.36

3. Jymmy Trevor (Hull Thursday RC)            1:04.00