Berkhamsted CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Sep-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: f12b/10
  • Closing Date: 17-Sep-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wins for Clarke and Fawcett in Buckinghamshire

  • Published: 29 Sep 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nick Clarke

Samantha Fawcett and Nick Clarke both claimed maiden wins for the season in the Berkhamsted CC 10-mile open event hosted near Cheddington in Buckinghamshire on Sunday.

With two impressive rides in the National 24 hour and 100-mile Championships this year – finishing 3rd and 5th respectively – Nick Clarke (Arctic Aircon RT) secured his first win of the season on a short 10-mile course.

Clarke clocked a winning time of 22-08, toppling the previous marker by 44 seconds.

That marker belonged to veteran John Lacey (Hemel Hempstead CC) who also recorded his best open event finish of the year, holding on for second place.

Lacey’s time of 22-52 seemed comfortable before Clarke’s run but managed to still beat third by over a minute. Third place was a tight contest as Harry Kirby (Bicester Millenium CC) narrowly edged it by 2 seconds.

Junior rider Kirby crossed the line with a time of 24-06 beating the 24-08 that Neal Beauchamp (Rapha Cycling Club) set later in the morning.

In the women’s category, Samantha Fawcett (Lovelo Cycle Works) also took her first win of the season with a 27-second victory.

Her previous best of second was superseded thanks to her time of 25-13 that wasn’t to be beaten.

Sophie Lewis (Cycle Team OnForm) came the closest but no one could match the winning time.

Lewis clocked 25-40 to continue her run of three consecutive podiums this season finishing in second place. Debbie Honour (VC 10) finished third.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.