Godric C.C.

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Jun-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: b10/43
  • Closing Date: 04-Jun-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Victory for Hurren and Fairweather in Godric CC 10

  • Published: 17 Jun 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Stuart Fairweather

Strong performances from Denise Hurren and Stuart Fairweather saw them victorious at the Godric CC 10-mile time trial in Norfolk on Saturday.

Fairweather, the 42-year-old Velovelocity rider from Woodbridge in Suffolk, clocked 19-55 to take the win by 19 seconds over the B10/43 course near Wortwell. Second spot went to Stowmarket and District CC’s Simon Hanse with 20-14, while almost a minute further back was Richard Carrington (West Suffolk Wheelers) in third.

Meanwhile in the women’s event Hurren, another Team Velovelocity veteran rider, clocked 23-05 to win by 42 seconds from Kerry Tate (Newmarket TCCC), while Jo Fisk (Ride harder) was third with 24-46.

And in the tandem category the Team Vision Racing duo of Dean Lubin and John Iszatt were easily the winners with 20-46, with second-placed team Mark and Anna Fraser clocking 23-21.

The course uses the popular A143 from north of Harleston, starting near Wortwell and proceeding up to Bungay and turning back down.

Hurren’s victory is the third time this season she has been fastest female in an open time trial.

She was victorious in the Great Yarmouth CC 10 back in April on the same course as this event, and then was also victorious in the Great Yarmouth CC 25 last month. In between those two wins, she was second in both the VTTA East Anglia 10 and the VC Baracchi 10.

And Fairweather has also tasted victory in 2019 already, starting with the CC Breckland 10 on New Year’s Day and most recently in the Anglia Velo 10 on June 1 where he broke the course record.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1     Stuart Fairweather            Team Velovelocity V     19.55

2     Simon Hanse       Stowmarket & Dist V     20.14

3     Richard Carrington            West Suffolk Whls V     21.12

4     Steve Cave        Plomesgate CC     V     21.24

5     Dale Sturman            West Suffolk Whls V     21.28

6     Mark Saunders           VC Baracchi V     21.48

7     Andy Kennedy            Ipswich BC  V     21.57

8     Darren Davis            West Suffolk Whls V     22.04

9     Dean Lubin        Team Vision Racing      V     22.16

10    Lee Garrod        Sole Bay Cycle sport    V     22.24


WOMEN'S EVENT                             

1     Denise Hurren           Team Velovelocity WV    23.05

2     Kerry Tate        Newmarket T.C.CC  W     23.47

3     Jo Fisk           Ride Harder WV    24.46

4     Jenny Anderson          Gt Yarmouth CC    WV    25.06

5     Jan Smith         Gt Yarmouth CC    WV    25.08

6     Sally Withey            Team Swift  WV    25.51

7     Steph Hoyle       Godric CC   WV    25.57

8     Kate Lucas        Norwich ABC WV    26.43

9     Jodie Lee         VC Baracchi W     30.52



1st   Dean Lubin        Team Vision Racing            20.46

      John Iszatt       Team Vision Racing           

2nd   Mark Fraser       City Cycle Centre       23.21

      Anna Fraser       CC Ashwell       

3rd   Chris York        Maldon & Dist. CC       24.03

      Joanne York       Maldon & Dist. CC