Border City Whs CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Jul-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L1010
  • Closing Date: 25-Jun-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wins in Cumbria for Westmorland and Smart

  • Published: 07 Jul 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Chris Smart

Chris Smart edged a narrow men’s category win as Carol Westmorland fended off her rivals for the women’s competition in the Border City Wheelers CC 10-mile open event in Cumbria on Saturday.

38-year-old Smart (GTR-Return to Life) continued a fine run of form, securing his fifth win following a third place in the fourth round of the Sigma Sports Classic Series in May.

His margin of victory may have been a fine one to say the least on this occasion but Smart’s ability to place himself atop the podium arose once again – the eighth time this season in eleven events on record.

Smart clocked a time of 19-47 to pip time-trialling stalwart Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) by three seconds.

Bideau has also enjoyed a productive campaign so far, racking up ten victories. Whereas Smart extended his run to five wins, Bideau’s 19-50 saw his own winning run of five time-trial victories came to an end.

Bideau’s team-mate Paul Braithwaite will be pleased in securing his best finish of the season in third with a time of 20-59.

In the women’s category, host club rider Carol Westmorland led the way as no one could match her time of 24-48. Westmorland’s last victory came in another event hosted by her club back in March, having to go 14 events until this weekend’s win.

Sandra Burrows (Vive Le Velo) was the closest anyone could get to Westmorland and clocked 25-23. The podium sees Burrows’ podium streak extend to four events with a victory amongst her placings.

In third, Joy Payne (Amersham Road CC) clocked 25-47.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



1. Chris Smart (GTR-Return to Life) 19.47

2. Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC)           19.50

3. Paul Braithwaite (Pendle Forest CC)         19.59

4. Craig Horseman (Beacon Wheelers)           20.04

5. David Gleave (Velo Club Cumbria)           20.42

6. Emil Petrov (Border City Wheelers CC)    20.53

7. Niall Paterson (Velo Club Cumbria)           20.59

8. Chris Jones (Bynea CC)      21.00

9. Sandy Waller (Edinburgh Road Club)       21.01

10. Gary Jamieson (Fechan Flyers)     21.16



1. Carol Westmorland (Border City Wheelers CC)    24.48

2. Sandra Burrows (Vive Le Velo)     25.23

3. Joy Payne (Amersham Road CC)   25.47