North Tyneside Riders (Winters Gibbet)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Sep-19
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: MH9
  • Closing Date: 04-Sep-19 00:00
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Victory for Cram and Farran on Winter’s Gibbet climb

  • Published: 09 Sep 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Marcus Cram

Marcus Cram (Blaydon CC) and Hannah Farran (Team Boompods) tasted victory on the tough Winter’s Gibbet climb near Elsdon in Northumberland on Sunday.

Perfect conditions greeted the riders for the 2.2-mile climb, with Cram taking overall victory in an impressive time of 6:55.1.

“It’s great to get the local hill climb season off with a win,” he said. “The legs are heading in the right direction and I’m looking forward to the rest of the season.”

Harran Farran of Team Boompods rode to victory in the women’s category in a time of 8:49.4. 

“It’s my first hill climb of the season so to take the win is great and I’m very much looking forward to the rest of the season now!” she said afterwards.

Second was Sarah Wilkinson of Blaydon CC (9:05.2), and in third place was Emma Glover of Cestria CC (9:25.4).

Jamie Johnson of Barnesbury CC was second in a time of 7:04.1 and Matty Smith of Muckle CC was third in a time of 7:14.4.

Hannah Farran

The event saw a welcome return to hill climb action for Colin Atkinson of Muckle CC who just missed out on the final podium spot. Colin was sadly struck down with sepsis in the middle of March this year, and consequently has had to sit on the sidelines all season whilst overcoming such a serious illness.

He was understandably delighted to be back in the mix, and happy to pick up prize money for the fastest veteran (7:25.3).

In the post event prizegiving, Charles Bayley of Backyard Bootleggers picked up prize money for fastest senior rider, and fastest espoir was Oliver Daniels of University of Bristol Cycling Club.

Fastest rider for the host club was Guillaume Zoppi (8:32.6).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos      Name   Club    Gender Cat      Time

Guillaume Zoppi

1          Marcus Cram  Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  6:55.1

2          Jamie Johnson Barnesbury CC           Male    Senior  7:04.1

3          Matty Smith    Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  7:14.4

4          Colin Atkinson           Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Vet      7:25.3

5          Nick Spencer   Blumilk.Com   Male    Vet      7:32.4

6          Graeme Wardale         Team Bikestop Tyrekey          Male    Vet      7:34.2

7          Charles Bayley            Backyard Bootleggers Male    Senior  7:43.3

8          Craig Hodgson           Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  7:47.3

9          Adam Greenwood      Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  7:48.3

10        Sean Leckey    Kendal Cycle Club     Male    Senior  7:49.6

11        Oliver Daniels University Of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC)          Male    Espoir  8:05.1

12        Sam Leng        AIMS Cycling Male    Senior  8:11.8

12        Ben Walker     Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Vet      8:12.4

14        Guillaume Zoppi         North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      8:32.6

14        Lee Ridden     Reifen Racing Male    Vet      8:33.4

16        Ian Gallon       North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      8:41.9

16        Noel Stoddart Blaydon CC    Male    Vet      8:42.2

18        Tony Dougan  Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  8:43.6

19        Ian Clark         Backyard Bootleggers Male    Espoir  8:48.1

20        Hannah Farran Team Boompods        Female Senior  8:49.4

21        Barry Fordham            Cestria C.C.    Male    Vet      8:56.4

22        Daniel Thompson        North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Senior  8:58.9

23        David Goodwin          Newcastle Cheviot CC           Male    Vet      9:05.0

23        Sarah Wilkinson          Blaydon CC    Female Vet      9:05.2

25        Samuel Gray   Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  9:16.9

26        Emma Glover  Cestria C.C.    Female Senior  9:25.4

27        Don Speight    Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Male    Vet      9:38.1

28        Alistair Macdonald     Sporting Club Gothic  Male    Vet      10:07.7

29        Angela Mcgurk           Blaydon CC    Female Senior  10:12.9

30        Mark Riley      North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      10:19.3

31        Adrienne Bishop         North Shields Polytechnic Club         Female Senior  10:48.3

32        Joe Mcmillan   Blaydon CC    Male    Vet      11:57.0

            Shaun Stephenson       North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      APOL

            Martyn Mcwhirter       Edinburgh Road Club Male    Senior  APOL

            Peter Phillipson           North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Vet      DNS

            Frank Devlin   South Shields Velo Cycling Club       Male    Vet      DNS

            Andy Richardson        Muckle Cycle Club     Male    Senior  DNS