Wigmore CC (ECCA BAR)(150 riders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-May-19
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: Q10/6
  • Closing Date: 26-Apr-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Fennell and Lewis smash course records in Wigmore CC 10

  • Published: 06 May 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell

The Independent Pedaler team-mates Christopher Fennell and Emma Lewis both smashed course records on their way to victories in the Wigmore CC 10 in Kent on Sunday.

The scheduled 25-mile event on the Q25/8 course had to be changed due to emergency roadworks appearing on the course near Ashford. Instead the Q10/6 course was used over the shorter 10-mile distance.

Fennell, aged 23, showed his form last weekend by winning the VTTA 30 event but few expected him to take one minute and 50 seconds off the course record finishing in 20 minutes exactly.

Neil Lauder (Artic Tacx RT) also broke the previous course record but had to settle for second in a time of 20.37. Meanwhile veteran rider Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths) finished third clocking 22.01.

Following the lead of her team-mate, 27-year-old Emma Lewis smashed the women’s course record by two minutes and 20 seconds. Her time of 21 minutes and 50 seconds was also good enough for fourth place overall.

Leading the chase for second place over five minutes behind Lewis was veteran Rebecca Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers) in 27.41 while Tracy Wilkinson-Begg (Folkestone Velo Club) took third in 28.11.

Velorefined.com Aerosmiths took the team prize with a combined time of one hour, eight minutes and 41 seconds by Andrew Meilak, Mark Hill and Paul Smith.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Place Name Club Cat  Time

1st  Christopher Fennell  The Independent Pedaler    Senior     20:00

2nd  Neil Lauder     Arctic Tacx RT  Senior     20:37

3rd  Andrew Meilak   VeloRefined.comÿAerosmiths Vet  22:01

4th  Emma Lewis The Independent Pedaler    L Senior   22:16

5th  Nick Wilson     Rye & District Wheelers CC Vet  22:29

6th  Mark Hill  VeloRefined.comÿAerosmiths Vet  22:45

7th  Alex Pearson    Wildcats CC     Vet  22:45

8th  Nicholas Scott Thanet RC  Senior     22:51

9th  John Cockrill   Abellio - SFA Racing Team  Senior     22:53

10th Pete Elms  Colour Tech RT  Vet  23:07



Place Name Club Cat  Time

1st  Emma Lewis The Independent Pedaler    L Senior   00:22:16

2nd  Rebecca Wilson  Rye & District Wheelers CC L Vet 00:27:41

3rd  Tracy Wilkinson-Begg Folkestone Velo Club L Vet 00:28:11

4th  Valerie Place   7Oaks Tri Club  L Vet 00:29:17

5th  Natasha Jarman  Southborough & Dist. Whs   L Senior   00:30:20