southern counties cu (Association members only)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Apr-18
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: G25/47
  • Closing Date: 03-Apr-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Wright and Hamilton-Love ride to victories in Surrey

  • Published: 15 Apr 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Pat Wright.

Pat Wright (Paceline RT) rode to victory in the Southern Counties CU 25-mile time trial in what is believed to be a new course record, while Jacintha Hamilton-Love (Dulwich Paragon) was fastest woman.

Wright, 33, took the victory on the G25/47 near Beare Green with a time of 51-49. The Paceline RT rider finished 25 seconds ahead of second place man Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC).

45-year-old Maybank couldn’t make it a second win in the event after winning last year’s running but finished over a minute ahead of third place in 52-32.

Paceline RT had a day to remember as they had two riders on the podium on Sunday. Andrew Bradbury joined teammate Wright to complete the top three in 53-32.

Jacintha Hamilton-Love (Dulwich Paragon CC) edged out competitors in the women’s category by a narrow four seconds. Her time of 1-03-53 bested that of Lewes Wanderers CC rider Lisa Davies who clocked 1-03-57.

Davies’ team-mate Gina McGeever finished in third place to cap a successful day for Lewes Wanderers CC.

Second overall Liam Maybank was the fastest veteran but he missed out on the fastest veteran on standard prize to 69-year-old Donald Parker (Brighton Mitre CC) who went +12-47 quicker than standard with a 1-04-30.

The team prize went to the South Downs Bikes/Casco Europe team who finished with a combined time of 2-46-40 thanks to rides from Simon McNamara, Gary Brind and Stuart Bettis who all finished in the top 10 individually. The South Downs team had a good day with a total of four riders placed in the top 10.

Organisers said conditions were relatively good with no real adverse weather for riders to tackle. The event was run on a new G25/47 course that challenges riders with more undulating terrain than the previous course that ran flat along the A24 and A29.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Pat Wright (Paceline RT)    51:49

2. Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) 52:14

3. Andrew Bradbury (Paceline RT)    53:32

4. Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes/ Casco Europe)   54:14

5. Gary Brind (South Downs Bikes/ Casco Europe)  55:24

6. Mark Emsley (Crawley Wheelers)  55:31

7. Mark Bashford (East Grinstead CC)          56:06

8. Stuart Bettis (South Downs Bikes/ Casco Europe)                        56:56

9. Kevin Plummer (South Downs Bikes/ Casco Europe)       57:27

10. Matt Peel (C&N Cycles RT)         58:03



1. Jacintha Hamilton-Love (Dulwich Paragon CC)    1:03.53

2. Lisa Davies (Lewes Wanderers CC)           1:03.57

3. Gina McGeever (Lewes Wanderers CC)    1:08.13



1. Donald Parker (Brighton Mitre CC)           1:04.30            +12:47

2. Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) 52:14   +12:35

3. Kevin Plummer (South Downs Bikes/ Casco Europe)       57:27   +10:47