Portsmouth North End CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Jun-18
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: p881/25
  • Closing Date: 22-May-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Chambers and Bartlett victorious in Portsmouth North End 25

  • Published: 03 Jun 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Gary Chambers (NOPINZ) continued his preparation for the National 25-Mile Championships with a clear victory in the Portsmouth North End 25 while Laura Bartlett (A3crg) won the women’s event.

Chambers, 32, from Fareham, took advantage of perfect conditions to clock a winning time of 48 minutes exactly on the course which uses parts of the Championship route.

The NOPINZ rider was beaten into second last weekend in the Royal Air Force Cycling Association 25 but went almost three minutes faster to clinch victory on this occasion.

The P881/25 course saw riders start on the B3006 before joining the A3 and turning at Bramshott before making the return journey past the start and then turning for the finish.

Under-23 rider Samuel Wadsley (Primera-Team Jobs) took a hard fought second place finishing in 49.45, just six seconds faster than Ben Elliot (Paceline RT).

Fastest veteran on scratch was fifth place Mark Stafford (Portsmouth North End CC) who clocked a time of 51.43.

“It was perfect conditions as it was still and warm so it was ideal,” said Chambers.

“I have done many variations of that course and a good few years ago I did a long 48 on a similar course so I’m definitely going well.

“I was beaten twice last weekend by Ryan Perry so it’s good to get back to winning ways. It’s a rolling course but with a nice surface which makes it pretty quick. The National 25 is on a similar course as today but with a slightly different start and finish which is my biggest aim as it’s pretty local for me.”

In the women’s category 35-year-old Bartlett, from Dunsfold, in Surrey, continued to build the form which saw her finish 18th in the National 25-Mile Championships last season taking victory in 55.35.

Bartlett also won the Lewes Wanderers 30 event last month and showed her power over the shorter distance.

Helen Reynolds (Hemel Hempstead CC) won a tight battle for second clocking 56.41 while Jacintha Hamilton-Love (Dulwich Paragon CC) finished third in 56.59.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Gary Chambers (NOPINZ) 48.00

2 Samuel Wadsley (Primera-Team Jobs) 49.45

3 Ben Elliot (Paceline RT) 49.51

4 James Brickell (Fareham Whls CC) 51.40

5 Mark Stafford (Portsmouth North End CC) 51.43

6 Chris Holmes (Twickenham CC) 51.47

7 Ant Gritton (Sotonia CC) 51.55

8 Dave Dent (GS Stella) 52.11

9 Andy Smith (Velo Club St Raphael) 52.19

10 Neil Mackley (Fareham Whls CC) 52.37


1 Laura Bartlett (A3crg) 55.35

2 Helen Reynolds (Hemel Hempstead CC) 56.41

3 Jacintha Hamilton-Love (Dulwich Paragon CC) 56.59