Otley CC (Men)(Yorkshire Spoco Event)(Entries Close 28/03/18)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-Apr-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: v212
  • Closing Date: 29-Mar-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Smart and Moore battle their way to victories in Otley CC 10

  • Published: 15 Apr 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Chris Smart.

Visiting from Scotland Chris Smart (GTR- Return to Life) clinched a clear victory in the Otley CC 10 while Madeline Moore (TORQ Performance) won a hotly contested women’s event.

Smart, 37 and from Ayshire, was visiting family in the area and took victory by 24 seconds on the rolling out and back V212 course near Wetherby along the A1.

“It was a fast day but not a fast course as it was hard with heavy and rolling roads,” said Smart following his victory.

“It was similar to what we have in Scotland so suited me. There are plenty of events in Scotland which I will be riding and the National 10 Championships which are on my door step this year, I drive the course to work so that is a big goal for me.

Madeline Moore.

“I’m also organising the GTR-Return to Life 10 the month before on the Championship course so it will be a chance for riders to recce the course.”

Smart denied 17-year-old Mason Hollyman (Zappi Racing Team) victory as the youngster from Huddersfield finished in 21.02.

In a close finish for the podium places Kris Atkin (Team Bottrill/Vanguard) clinched third in 21.08, just two seconds faster than Hayden Allen (T.H.R.E. Datawolves RT).

A good field of 27 women was headed home by Moore finishing in 24.52 going two places better than her third place finish in the Harrogate Nova CC 15 last month.

Maria Mulleady (Team Swift) took second place in 25.06 while Corinne Mitchell (Harrogate Nova) and Melissa Greaves (Valley Striders CC) couldn’t be separated for third both finishing in 25.23.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


Results Overall

1 Chris Smart (GTR- Return to Life) 20.38

2 Mason Hollyman (Zappi’s Racing Team) 21.02

3 Kris Atkin (Team Bottrill-Vanguard) 21.08

4 Hayden Allen (T.H.R.E. Datawolves RT) 21.10

5 Billy Jarish (Lincoln Whls CC) 21.13

6 Richard Dean (Cyclomania) 21.21

7 Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) 21.26

8 Anthony Ashworth (Wetherby Whls) 21.30

9 Patrick Gould (Matlock CC) 21.34

10 Toby Cowell (Cambridge University CC) 21.44


1 Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) 21.26

2 Anthony Ashworth (Wetherby Whls) 21.30

3 Patrick Gould (Matlock CC) 21.34


1 Madeline Moore (TORQ Performance) 24.52

2 Maria Mulleady (Team Swift) 25.06

=3 Corinne Mitchell (Harrogate Nova) 25.23

=3 Melissa Greaves (Valley Striders CC) 25.23