Stowmarket & District CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Jul-18
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: B10/36R
  • Closing Date: 17-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Johnson and Fairweather win in Suffolk

  • Published: 29 Jul 18
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Stuart Fairweather

Stuart Fairweather and Rebecca Johnson took victories in the men and women’s categories in the Stowmarket and District 10-mile time trial on Sunday morning.

Fairweather (Team Velovelocity) won by the narrowest of margins across the 10-mile distance.

The 41-year-old from Woodbridge in Suffolk improved from last week’s outing at the Anglia Velo 10 where he finished second to team-mate Matthew Senter. Fairweather’s time of 20-38 gave him a marginal victory over Lloyd Chapman by a second.

Chapman was one of two Plomesgate CC riders to finish on the podium with Matt O’Brien finishing third respectively. He crossed the line in 20-39 whilst his team-mate trailed by only 13 seconds in 20-52.

Rebecca Johnson

Rebecca Johnson (Fusion RT Velo Performance) finished tenth overall as she went on to take victory in the women’s class. Her time of 22-26 helped her beat Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) by a comfortable 1-15 over the 10 miles.

Fastest veterans in the field were Simon Hance (Ipswich BC) in the V40, Simon Shaw (Velo Schils Interbike RT) in V50, Cliff Voller (Newbury RC) for the V60 category and finally John Swanbury (VC Baracchi) for the 70-79-year olds.

The team prize went to Plomesgate CC as second and third place riders Chapman and O’Brien were joined by Trevor Caley for a combined time of 1-04-31.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.

Results :
Position Name Club Cat Time

1 Stuart Fairweather Team Velovelocity V40 20:38
2 Lloyd Chapman Plomesgate CC S 20:39
3 Matt O'Brien Plomesgate CC V40 20:52
4 Simon Hance Ipswich BC V40 21:12
5 Simon Daw Velo Schills Interbike RT V50 21:54
6 Andrew Leggett Team Velovelocity V40 22:03
7 Chris Crabtree Orwell Velo S 22:17
8 Adrian Pettitt Stowmarket & District CC V40 22:23
9 Peter Kerry Ipswich Velo V40 22:24
10 Rebecca Johnson Fusion RT Veloperformance W/S 22:26
11 Julian Bosley Stowmarket & District CC V40 22:36
12 Matthew Peck Ipswich BC S 22:37
13 Lee Garrod Sole Bay Cycle Sport V50 22:41
14 James Potter Ipswich BC S 22:42
15 Adrian Rudd West Suffolk Wheelers V50 22:48
16 James Rush CC Sudbury V40 23:14
17 Chris Parker Ipswich BC V40 23:22
18 Luke Hurst Ashtons Legal Cycling Club S 23:27
19 Peter Hurry Wolsey RC V50 23:30
20 Trevor Caley Plomesgate CC V50 23:40
21 Denise Hurren Sole Bay Cycle Sport W/V50 23:41
22 Patrick Ellis Diss & District CC V40 23:49
23 Alex He VC Baracchi V50 23:53
24 Kevin Norman Stowmarket & District CC V50 24:30
25 Steven Little VC Revolution V40 24:33
26 Cliff Voller Newbury RC V60 24:57
27 Chris Cantwell West Suffolk Wheelers V50 25:17
28 Derek Cawston Wolsey RC V40 26:04
29 Nicola Powell Stowmarket & District CC W/S 26:14
30 Trevor Roberts Wolsey RC V40 26:16
31 John Swanbury VC Baracchi V70 26:19
32 Phil Bailey Basildon CC V50 27:15
33 Emma Taylor Stowmarket & District CC W/S 27:44
34 Amanda Mallett Plomesgate CC W/V50 28:08
35 Peter Beard Stowmarket & District CC V50 28:25
36 John Vidler Plomesgate CC V70 29:07
 DNS APOL Terry Law CC Sudbury V80 DNS
DNS APOL Mark Lloyd 3T Racing V40 DNS
DNS APOL Callam Stewart Stowmarket & District CC S DNS
DNS APOL Steve Cave Plomesgate CC V40 DNS
DNS APOL Graham Doe Maldon & District CC V50 DNS
DNS APOL Lucas He VC Baracchi Jun DNS
DNS APOL Paul Jay Team Velovelocity V40 DNS
DNS APOL Ben Stancombe Team Velovelocity S DNS
DNS Trevor Figgitt Plomesgate CC V50 DNS
DNS Martin Pyne Anglia Velo V60 DNS
DNS  Nathan Turner Maldon & District CC V50 DNS
DNS Chris Womack VC Baracchi V70 DNS