Welsh CA (Welsh Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-Sep-18
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: R100/8b
  • Closing Date: 21-Aug-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Davies and Jowett set new records with wins in Welsh CA 100

  • Published: 02 Sep 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Kieron Davies

Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) and Vicky Jowett (Plymouth Corinthian CC) made the most of good conditions to clinch personal bests and Welsh competition records in the Welsh CA 100.

Davies, 31 and from St Clears in Carmarthenshire, targeted the event to improve his BAR standing and did so with a winning ride of three hours, 20 minutes and 17 seconds.

A brand-new course was approved for the event after roadworks almost caused the event to be cancelled.

The new course included three circuits of a loop which included the dual carriageway A40 towards Monmouth before looping back around to Raglan.

After finishing second in the National 100-Mile Championships in July, on this occasion Davies went almost three minutes faster on his local course to clinch victory.

Vicky Jowett

Conrad Moss (Mid Devon CC) also clocked a personal best of 3:28.01 but had to settle for second on this occasion ahead of Christopher Gibbard (Bynea CC) in 3:34.40.

“It’s nice to be racing on Welsh roads and not having to go across the border to get a fast time,” said Davies. “I turned up to go for the BAR as I’m slightly ahead of Adam [Duggleby] and I knew that if I did better it would leave it down to the 50.

“The Welsh record is also nice to have and it’s a credit to the organiser who took a lot of time to get this course right.”

In the women’s event Jowett took an emphatic victory by over four minutes with a winning time of 4:06.37.

She was chased home by Michelle Lee (Royal Dean Forest Cycle Club) who clocked 4:11.00 while Andrea Parish (VeloSistas TT Team) finished third another two minutes and 29 seconds behind.



1 Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) 3:20.17
2 Conrad Moss (Mid Devon CC) 3:28.01
3 Christopher Gibbard (Bynea Cycling Club) 3:34.40
4 Anthony Jones (Towy Racing Cycling Club) 3:43.22
5 Henrik Persson (Kinstone Wheelers CC) 3:43.53
6 Gavin Macdougall (Tavistock Whls CC) 3:46.46

1 Vicky Jowett (Plymouth Corinthian CC) 4:06.37
2 Michelle Lee (Royal Dean Forest Cycle Club) 4:11.00
3 Andrea Parish (VeloSistas TT Team) 4:13.29